All you servers & bartenders out there...EDITED in 2016

  • Oct. 14, 2016, 11:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

(Or others who put themselves in the customer shoes.)

Ok. I had a disagreement with a customer last night on his WORDING. I have two scenarios.

I’m out with my good friends Jane & Sally.

Scenario 1: I say to the server/bartender, “Will you please get us a round?” Who is it implied is buying the round?

Scenario 2: I say to the bartender/server, “Jane & Sally would like another cocktail and I’ll take one, too.” Who is purchasing the cocktails?

Once I get input, come back for the outcome that happened in my situation.

Okay. I’m so glad that most of you agree with me. It is a regular customer and I’ve never had this problem with him before. I apologized and asked him what he wanted me to do. He said it was fine and I told him that I’d tell the people he bought for that they owed him one;) 99% of the time when people tell me they want a round and order for other people, the person ordering it is paying for it. Anyway, I just wanted input and now I’m good:) Oh, and I told him that next time, he shouldn’t order for other people and I’ll confirm what he wants to do in the situation.


Last updated October 14, 2016


Seeking Joella October 14, 2016

I'd ask them at the end who's bill they went on.

pbrman October 14, 2016

If I were the bartender, I would assume the person ordering the drinks is the one paying for them. Unless they ask for 3 separate tabs, in which case I assume they are terrible at math or just assholes

A Rose October 14, 2016

1 = you are paying for all. 2 = everyone is paying separately.

crafty_tori October 14, 2016

I don't think it's clear who is paying in either situation. However, in situation one, I could definitely see it being implied that the person asking is the one paying.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.