Friday, Friday, Gotta Get Down on Friday in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Oct. 14, 2016, 9:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

No phone calls, no replies. Humbug.

Fittingly, I started my car up this morning and blaring from my radio (as the FM/AM is spotty out here, I have a CD changer on random) was “I got to get out of here and I’ve got to get out now before I go; my mind will blow.” Ha ha. Funny.

Now, possibly the worst thing about all of this bullshit with the Board is that I am less motivated than ever to do my job. Seriously. It is bad enough when the judge refuses to jail people. That already demotivates pretty strongly. But then throw in “You may lose half your paycheck because we said so” and I can’t imagine a middle finger large enough.

Unsurprisingly, this creates the typical internal conflict that is so prevalent of my time here. Because sitting around doing little is the absolute worst thing. Sitting around researching a case (as I am presently doing) provides little as Iowa Law on this issue is vague and worded more for Civil Law than Criminal Law. I am researching ways/possibilities for enforcing a Colorado Protection Order. Because… and how’s this for “State’s Rights v Federal” arguments.... States have their own laws on how they write, issue, and enforce Protection Orders. Each state is unique and their own sovereign on this matter. Therefore, if there was an appropriate Federal Law governing Protection Orders… we wouldn’t have issues. As it is… there is the Full Faith and Credit Clause of the Constitution Article IV section 1. Which states, as a general matter, that an order from one state must be enforced in another state if it is an original order issued by the enforcing state. But as there is no uniformity.... this is still an issue that requires research. SO… I’m researching that… sort of. But it isn’t a big nor pressing concern. Meanwhile, I have cases and other stuff that “I should probably be working on” but… yeah. This is the exact reason why counties that ARE bad and want to STAY bad REMAIN bad. Given no assistance or guidance, I carved my way through the first six months hoping to understand how to do my job. In those six months, I witness criminal behavior from the Officers… corrupt behavior from the elected officials… and incompetent behavior from the Magistrate and County Attorney. After all of that, I still try to figure out the job and carve some kind of path to knowledge and justice. At which point the Elected Officials consider that… maybe I’m making too much money. ...................... Internal Conflict. The same internal conflict that has existed before but now with an added feature.
I WANT to do well in this job
BUT I don’t know what I’m doing
I WANT to find guidance and teaching
BUT my boss is an idiot (and all the Mentorship Sign Ups I’ve done haven’t gotten back to me)
I WANT to succeed
BUT I feel like I’m doing the best I can all things considered
I WANT to do something productive with my days
BUT fuck these asshats for considering halving my pay.

So… that’s where I am right now. And… of course… pounding my head against the wall about people getting back to me about job opportunities.

Funny thing is, my rational mind just won’t let me be irrational right now. I keep thinking “If we knew this job was going to be part time, I wouldn’t have taken it. I’d have kept looking for jobs, had time to see friends, played video games and we never would have come to this awful place.” But… the truth is… I am starting to understand why we needed to come here. And… shit, frankly… it is WAY better to be in a shitty situation with corruption, frustration and loneliness where you are getting PAID than it is to be in a passable situation with family and friends where you are totally BROKE. But maybe that kind of thinking makes me a horrible person. The thinking that suggests… as shitty as things are, at least I’m getting paid for the time being.

(Drive to Boss’ to discuss applicants for her position; plan to call CR on drive back).

What to mention first.
Boss and I agree on the applicants we most like and most wish to interview. The Board of Supervisors has, however, demanded to review all the applicants independently. Meaning… even though the County Attorney and Assistant County Attorney are the people who know what the job requires (and the Board doesn’t have a clue) the Board wants to “make sure we give all applicants a fair shot.” TRANSLATION: The Board already has an applicant that they want to hire and know that Boss and I find that applicant wholly lacking and unsuited for the office. Grrrrrrrrrreatfuck.

Then I called CR. Left a message. I was nervous, I’ll admit. Haven’t heard back. Fairly certain this is a “No” response but at the same time… if that is true… would I really want to work for people like that? That say they will call Wednesday and don’t return a phone call on Friday? Bah. Because of course the answer is “I’d love to work for people with integrity and professionalism” but I have an absolute lack of that where I presently am so… can beggars be choosers?

And that’s it. Job Worries, Small Town Problems… same shit different day, right?

AND to conclude… I’m a whore for notes. After all, why wouldn’t I be? I’m infinitely more comfortable when surrounded by 563,000 people than when I am surrounded by 5,630. So… I’m a whore for notes. To that end… this little “think piece” popped up on my Facebook Feed. So… if nothing you read in this entry inspired you to note, lol, lets see if you can resist noting on THIS!
If that doesn’t get you have two cracked.com articles! lol
Polite Disclaimer: Noting is not mandatory nor do I wish to guilt or coerce anyone into leaving a note should they not wish to.


Deleted user October 14, 2016

When you were hired didn't they give you a contract guaranteeing salary for a certain length of time ?

Pickled Duck Lips October 15, 2016

You got to grab that town by the pussy, and make her your bitch!!

I know, totally useless suggestion, but didn't know what else to write lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.