Wisps in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Oct. 13, 2016, 2:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today already feels like an intangible day of little substance.

  • Didn’t hear from CR Job at all last night.
  • Nothing of any excitement or value last night or this morning.
  • Printed off a bunch of paperwork and drove up to my boss’ office to ask her to send them via Certified Mail as it is an ICWA issue requiring notification to the U.S. Department of the Interior. Yes, I had help figuring all of that out. But being able to figure out an ICWA issue with zero help from my boss should be enough to demonstrate that I could (potentially) thrive in an encouraging legal environment. (Translation: More of me thinking CALL ME, FIRM or at least… to the other places I have applied.... they can feel free to call me at any time, too!)
  • I did send 2 resumes out today. One was for an Assistant County Attorney position in Cyclone County (for those who know Iowa, that isn’t much of a pseudonym). It is the same county my brother lives in; it abuts the county my parents live in and would ultimately be a very desired position. The second resume was for Assistant Attorney General: Juvenile Branch. The advertisement says they are looking for an entry-level attorney to represent the Department of Human Services in Juvenile Matters. (1) Juvenile as opposed to criminal would be good; (2) Des Moines is an ideal location, obviously; (3) being in the AG’s office would get me around people that could train me. So… if I hear bad news from CR (or no news) at least I am still trying!

That being said… I’m less than thrilled as a general statement today.
Good News: Lots of applications (surprisingly) for County Attorney came in. That’s… awesome. And totally unexpected. BUT since we can’t tell them if the job is full time or part time… and we can’t tell them how much we’re willing to offer… the bigger question is going to be “They’ve applied, but will any of them take the job?” And as much as working with a County Attorney (as opposed to being solo) will help me out… I still have to admit, I’d rather leave. The Board of Supervisors is corrupt as shit. The sheriff’s office is fucked up. The Auditor is under investigation. Etcetera and on and on. I’m tired. I want… life. Things like a dog and a community and friends and nightly or weekly “hang outs.” Next Thursday will mark 200 days since I started here.

It is funny and a little depressing in a way. It is like I didn’t really stop looking for work. It is like I looked for work for two years; took a small break to move to a place that proved to me how important population was, and then hit the looking for work again. So… more or less… 3 years of looking for work. And only one job offer. The one that landed me here.

Oh… sorrow. Sort of. DHS Conversations with Clients today are about how there are now zero services that can be provided in-county. Even shit like insurance. Because all of that has left. So appointments must now be made to do pretty much anything and everything. This includes crisis services as well, btw. So… y’know how the suicide percentage of population has gone up in this county? Gosh, I suppose the smartest thing to do is tell people “if you feel like killing yourself, please have an appointment for crisis services scheduled in advance!”

Cracked Break

REASONS IT IS HARD TO MAKE FRIENDS
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt textOr conversely working with zero people
alt text
alt text
As a personal note… here’s a big one for me. “The Coffee Shop” or “The Cineplex” were/are standard social settings for me. “Let’s meet at the coffee shop” is a public place where conversation is encouraged and people can get to know one another. “Want to catch a movie?” is a non-committal and easy way of saying *Do you want to hang out but not be required to converse and/or feel the need to be entertaining?” Those two are big for me. And neither exist in my present location. Which still absolutely boggles my mind. How is there not even some local cafe or truck stop diner?! How is the only local business “The Bar”?!

23 UNFORTUNATE ADS COMPANIES THOUGHT WERE A GOOD IDEA
alt text
alt text
alt text

6 Anti-Trans Arguments That Sound Historically Similar

Why Superhero Games Can’t Match Quality Movies

How Half of America Lost Its Fucking Mind
(This article speaks about Rural v. Urban. And explains, in a way, how a person with my background is floundering in such an extremely rural environment).... and as to the comments about Valley Girls and Coffee Shops? See Coffee Shop mention above… and know that I went to Valley! Though #3 is also very true. Very true.

8 Insane Donald Trump Moments The World Totally Forgot

And lastly… an article a friend posted with the phrase “I didn’t write this; but this is me. Now lets be done with it!” WHY I’M VOTING FOR DONALD TRUMP

Sadly… no news… from anyone yet. Which is a bummer. I was a good candidate for a lot of these jobs before I had experience… now that I have legal experience and am much more certain of what I want to do and where I want to be… yeah. I am a bit irked that I’m having (pretty much) the same kind of luck that I had when I was first looking for a job 2 years ago.


Deleted user October 14, 2016

Patience !

Pickled Duck Lips October 15, 2016

lol I just thought of something. You're an "outsider," in that rural town, just like Muslim imgigants sometimes feel like outsiders in the USA. Yet, it's likely not because either of those residents wont accept you or them but because outsiders tend to act like outsiders. The feel in some way superior to the environment they got themselves in and accept the locals to bend to their views, instead of attempting to at least try to appreciate the positive aspects of their new surroundings.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.