One Down, One To Go in School Chronicles

  • Oct. 11, 2016, 9:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday was officially my last class of the first fall term. I had a candid conversation…well, candid is a strong term. I had a good conversation with my professor before class started. She told us last week that we could get to class closer to 6, but I forgot and showed up on time anyway.

So we got to talking. She’s only a few years older than I am and when I was working for the law firm, she was graduating from law school. She asked me about what kind of law I was looking to go into. I told her I was up in the air. It’s almost like wherever I land I’m okay. I thought about constitutional law or civil rights law and she said that I would end up with an organization. I almost screamed NO. I’m already in the non profit sector. I want out.

We talked about my vacation at my current job and how when I leave they will be paying me all the money because, I rarely take vacation. I know that. I’m banking on that. Even if I use my vacation time to take an hour off to go to school, the class is 8 weeks. That only takes like a day and 1/2 of my original day. And not to mention I accrue time at a large rate since I’ve been on my job for more than 5 year.

Anyway. She was telling me that I will do fine when I pursue whatever I’m going to pursue because I do at least have previous experience at a firm. She said that most firms are not like they use to be. Including the one that I use to work for. Like, long gone are the days of dark suits and strict dress code unless you’re going to court.

But that was encouraging that she said that to me and she told me what a friend of mine told me about really selling myself and my “skill set.” I can’t rightfully say that I have a skill set, but I think I will again be of a legal mind when I take this legal ethics class.

I’m excited. I’m about to start my job search and I have resources at the school to help me out with that too. I’m glad I came here. Hopefully, if my life gets under some kind of control maybe I will go forward with a bachelors degree. Right now, sadly, it’s not in the cards. :-(

But it will be…

:-)


Gilraent October 11, 2016

Huzzah for last day of class!

Sister Gilraent ⋅ October 11, 2016

Off a week and then I take my last one!

Deleted user October 15, 2016

Yay you! I'm excited for you. Your tenacity is so inspiring to me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.