Thursday Afternoon in New Diary

  • Oct. 6, 2016, 11:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am very proud of myself. I did not want to leave my apartment today but I made it out. Case manager was ringing my buzzer at 9. I told her I would be right down I gathered up my stuff that I needed and left. Once in her car we had a nice chat. I told her I had a bad night. I woke up and didn’t want to go out today. She asked me what happened. I said for one I was up and down a lot. I was finially up at 6 She said what do I do to try to sleep when I get this way. I say read lay on my couch and try to relax. We talked about breathing exercises I could do and I said I tried that breathing in and out,

On the way up to the courthouse we talked abut politics. She said she is undecided. She does not like Hillary or Trump. I said I cannot stand Trump. I do not want to see him get in as president. This is why it is so important to me to make sure I’m eligible to vote. I want to do my bit to make sure Trump does not get in office.

She asked if I had a ride to the polling place I said no. She said she could take me She does not want to see me not vote because I don’t have a ride. I said I will need a ride from her because social service van is not running. She said she could pick me up at 9 on election day. I said that would be great.

We get up to New Cumberland. We had no trouble finding the courthouse. They had checkers WE had to empty everything in a bag and they ran it through a machine. Girl waved a wan over me to make sure I wasn’t carrying anything. I asked where to go to check about a voting card and they pointed me in the right direction.

I had brought with me all kinds of identification. I had a bank statement, insurance card, proof of residence, photo id. That was what they said I needed on their web page. It turned out that I didn’t need any of it. I was already registered and somehow they had the correct and current address. I showed the girl my old voting card. It had the wrong place to vote., They gave me a new card and I didn’t have to show them anything. I said I’m all said to vote. She said yes. I thanked her and we left.

I worked myself into a frenzy thinking about this trip. In my mind I made it out so bad and it would be a horrible experience. I felt so bad this morning I did not want to go But voting is important to me and I wanted to make sure everything was set. I needed to take care of business. Despite the fears I was having I went a head and did it. It wasn’t a big deal to a normal person but to me it was a very big deal. I confronted a major fear and overcame it .

Well it is time for the positives. 1 I have a roof over my head 2. I have insurance that pays for most of the cost of my meds. 3 I have food to eat. I have clothes to wear. 4 I have a wonderful fiancé in Chocolatechip. 5 I am not addicted to alcohol or drugs. 6 I am in good physical health. 7 I have phone, internet and cable tv. 8 I have plenty of books to read. 9 I have a worker that comes in and cooks and cleans 10 I am debt free 11 I have an SSI and Social Security check. 12 I have a wonderful support system in Healthways

Life is pretty good There is no reason to get depressed


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.