Lily's Birthday in Scottish Meanderings

  • Oct. 8, 2016, 6:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just coming out the other end of a nasty cold which floored me for over a week. Had to have several days in bed so way behind with everything as a result.

So. Four years ago this Tuesday just past, around 9.30 in the morning, Nikki was crossing her legs - literally.

Lily was ready to be born - Nikki was 10 cms dilated but just wasn't ready for all which that involved so the only way she could stop it was by physically preventing it happening! I was amazed that was possible I have to admit - I thought the life force of the baby would override everything else. My daughter's stubborness knows no bounds though. 3 hours later, the midwives realised she was serious and - well - epidurals are quite wonderful things.

Almost 5 hours later in theatre we were waiting to hear that first cry and it was probably only minutes before it came but it felt like half an hour went by. I well remember the anxious looks of the staff as they tried to chivvy Nikki up and tell her everything was fine - you pick up all the little worrying glances at the clock and too bright smiles.

To try and distract her I asked what time Lily had been born and when we heard the answer we both fell about laughing - well as much as one can fall about laughing when one has just given birth. Nikki & I both have OCD. It doesn't really get in the way of our lives that much and to the outside world, isn't noticeable, but part of hers is a horror of the number 4 so the poor staff nurse who replied to my question couldn't understand why the time 4.44 would cause quite so much hilarity! Not only that but several minutes later we realised she had been born on the 4th of October!! More hilarity. But it was enough to take her mind off what was happening. A few seconds later we heard that first cry. Is there any sound more poignant?

And now here we are 4 years later.


I like the sort of action shot of this one even though it's blurry. The balloon had no weight so immediately it was let go of course it floated straight up to the ceiling and caused much consternation. Luckily Mummy was tall enough to retrieve it and Granny had a brainwave after that and tied a wand to it so that it hung vertically instead of flattening itself against the ceiling meaning it was within everyone's reach.


And then some little person found another use for it ......


Opening Granny's presents.

Note the silver rings on her right hand (although it's a bit blurred). I wear silver rings - apart from Mum's gold wedding band - and she's always taking mine off and playing with them. When I've bought her kids' rings though she doesn't seem interested so I hit on the idea of buying kids toe rings as they're extendable and were very similar to my own rings. Worked a treat.

(Lilah found them later on and put them straight onto her toes - we obviously have a fashionista in the family!)


A Paw Patrol Skye costume appeared to be exactly what was wanted!


Skye to the rescue!


And after watching the new Paw Patrol DVD we went to bed under the new Paw Patrol bed linen. Can you tell Paw Patrol is the favourite programme of the day??


Because it was her birthday, she got a nutty chocolate bar along with her breakfast then once she'd finished her tea she had several licks of a very big lollipop then a piece of birthday cake (she's getting her 'proper' cake at her party on Sunday). I thought we were going to have to scrape her off the ceiling before going to bed!!

The Evidence (I haven't done a YouTube video before as is probably very obvious so apologies for the quality - seems okay on my phone but is very blurry and jumpy on my computer.)


Last updated January 09, 2018


Lady of the Bann October 08, 2016

Nice pics. If it had been April would have been more weird.

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ October 11, 2016

That's true! Although Lilah made up for that - she was born on the 1st of April!!

Deleted user October 08, 2016

Oh my goodness gracious! Your grandchildren are just adorable. So sweet! All of the photos and the video sure make me smile. I love the last photo of Lily reading in bed.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ October 11, 2016

Aw that's good! Usually I read her a story when I'm there at bedtime but because it was her birthday we all had a group story that night - it was a bit of a squeeze!

MageB October 09, 2016

We love it all; how ever it is it's perfect.

Marg MageB ⋅ October 11, 2016

Thank you!

Deleted user October 11, 2016

What a nice family time !!

skyelord October 12, 2016

Loks like a wonderful timr

Marg skyelord ⋅ October 13, 2016

It was Malcolm!

edna million January 09, 2017

I can't believe she's already four! She is absolutely adorable - the video looks great, not jumpy at all. And I love her sugar-induced giggle fits!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.