VBP in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Oct. 2, 2016, 5:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A list but a list of things that connect under an umbrella theme

(1) I would argue that I am third generation American. My father’s father’s mother was Bermudan and her family got there through Wales and lower Scotland. (If I am remembering the line correctly).

(2) Technically, though… my heritage is largely Norwegian. LOTS of Norwegian. Almost entirely Norwegian from my Mom’s side; some significant Norwegian on my Father’s side. I also have a spot of German from my father’s side. It has been proposed to me that my “blood heritage” (if such a thing exists) that I could be said to be 50% Norwegian; 25% German and 25% United Kingdom Influences.

(3) All of that being said… when my family is together… it would be easy to confuse us as Spaniards or Italians. We can be a very loud and very expressive family when we are all together… seriously, the dinners surrounding Pappy’s Funeral were filled with laughter, guffaws, and loud stories.

(4) However… growing up, for the most part, it always seemed that I was far more polite than other children. I received hundreds of compliments throughout my childhood on my manners and behavior. I would joke that “My grandmother reinforces the British upbringing.”

(5) This weekend, my Wife and I have been watching “Very British Problems” based on the books/Twitter feed. Every single “problem” I think “Yeah… I’m like that. That isn’t ‘British’ so much as…” and then I look to Wife and… apparently it is. Strange.


Deleted user October 02, 2016

Interesting ! I am primarily English and Scots. And some Irish according to my DNA..

hot-lips October 03, 2016

I love the VBP tweets, they're hilarious. As a Brit, they are very British. lol I'm always fascinated by where people come from, I'd totally love to do a Who Do You Think You Are with my family history. Apart from knowing my Dad's family is from Baghdad and my Mum's from the Urals area of Russia, I don't know much else.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.