Getting Defrauded in New Beginnings

  • Oct. 1, 2016, 9:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was almost robbed, or wire-frauded, rather, a couple of weeks ago. I’ve been working with a financial planner, Gilbert, to handle some of my investments. Apparently, someone hacked my email account and looked through my sent emails. When he read my email correspondence with Gil, he sent him an email asking him to deposit a not insignificant amount of money in a Wells Fargo bank account. When I say he almost frauded me, I’m being generous. English clearly isn’t his first language. After he contacted Gil, Gil responded saying asking for a phone call and to make the request through the secured website. The following email exchange transpired.

Gill: Rob, this is a very strange request.  I’m going to need you to call if you can.  If you cannot I’m sorry for the hassle but our compliance department will never let us transact this type of business.

Fraudster: Gilbert, I have never requested for a transfer outside the state or in this request but this is done due to present situation. Its already 9pm here in Paris, I will be going to bed soon, Can I fax you a signed authorization letter or scanned copy or is there any other way things can be done for me? I await your response.

G: You should contact me through your secure message center and maybe I can run it through compliance with that sort of request.  What are your sibling’s names?  Where do they live?  What are their significant others named?  Answer via your Secure Message center and tell me exactly what you would like to do. 

F: I have been trying to get on my secure mail and no success, But I got a notification I have a message but still cant access it… You need me to identify Lauren [name removed] and David [name removed] as well… Its late and you should understand I am trying to get this done with ASAP as its late here 9:40pm already.

G: What do you want me to do?  I’m honestly not sure I can do anything for you but if you provide some instructions I will take it to my compliance department.

F: Thanks for your understanding, I need to transfer fund to my Wells Fargo account personal account… Thats just all I need you to do for me as I need to complete a real estate payment or do you want to transfer it to me here in Europe?

G: You are going to have to find a way to call me to verify your identity.

F: Gilbert I need you to understand if this isnt important I wont bother myself till am back in the state, Presently am out of the state and I need to make a payment this week and you of all should understand I dont make this unusual request so you should know I have to get it paid thats why am forced to get in touch with you via email…Can I sign and fax or scan a signed email to you because this is the best I can do at my present situation over here as I will be heading to the UK tomorrow evening.

G: Why don’t you go ahead and send the request with information on the account to which you want the money transferred.

F: Do you want me to sign and fax you or scan it to you? or should I just email it?

G: You can just email the instructions.

F: Sorry I fell asleep earlier. Below is my account information:

WELLSFARGO BANK
ACCOUNT #: 1065075259
ROUTINE: 121000248

G: What amount do you need? 

F: I need [amount removed].. How soon can that be send to my account?

I left all of the would-be fraudster’s grammar and spelling errors unchanged. I took that day off work for a dental appointment and some other errands, and my phone battery ran dry before Gil sent me any texts. About the time I returned home, found out what was going on, and changed my email password. Gil, knew it wasn’t me from his poor English, alone, but we also spoke just a few days prior to the incident, and I obviously would have mentioned if I was going to Paris when we spoke. The fraudster must have identified my brother’s and sister’s name from other emails in my sent folder. Those were the two most common email recipients who were actual people. I also notified Wells Fargo of what happened and that account was being used to commit wire fraud, but I never received any response.

So, learn a lesson from me. Make up strong passwords, and change them regularly.

A more uplifting update: My ankle is finally better. At least, it’s around the 95% mark. I’m able to do my original work out routine, and basically at the same intensity. Unfortunately, my ankle protests just a little bit when I do my warm up with my jump rope, but I expect if I stay the course, that initial pain will eventually go away.


Small Town Girl October 02, 2016

That is so scary! I never change my passwords! Maybe I'd better!

Star Maiden October 03, 2016

Wow. Glad to see the other guy realized it wasn't you!

Marg November 12, 2016

OMG that's scary - thank goodness the guy had poor English and that you had seen Gilbert just beforehand. My password is pretty strong and not an easily detected one but I know these people have ways and means :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.