Windows 10 review (kinda) in Chunky giblets

  • Sept. 30, 2016, 9:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

SPOILER I don’t care if you dislike Windows 10 or not. Shut up and read the entry.

So! The free Windows 10 upgrade is still available, and if you’re interested I’ll let you know how you can still get it, legally, below. But for now let me tell you my initial impressions of the OS because yep - I just installed it on one of my laptops.

Now before we get into this I must stress - I don’t want to hear your opinions on it if you haven’t even used it. I’ve had too many conversations with people that ran along the lines of “Windows 10 is fukken cancer!1!! Wat? No, of course I haven’t tried it. Why not? Because it’s omg cancer!1!1!!”

You’ll never fucking know if it suits you if you don’t try it. Stop going by what other people say and find out for yourselves! Are you six? You don’t need to be a part of a hive mind to determine whether you fucking like something! God, that pisses me off!

Anyway, let’s talk about the cancer that is Windows 10.

Nah, kidding. I actually really fucking like it. My boot up time has decreased by at least half. My videos and video-games actually run faster than they did in Windows 7. When I double-click on a movie file it opens immediately, instead of the five-or-six second delay that I experienced with Windows 7. It’s extremely fucking streamlined, and when you factor that I own laptops and therefore battery life is critical, this is a good thing.

And that’s another thing - I’m finding that my battery life is longer with Win 10 than it was in Win 7. This, my friends, is a priority for me.

Now it’s not all amazing. The highly-publicized privacy issues are, well, issues… for about ten minutes. That’s how long it takes, maximum, to fix those issues. First of all, go into the settings and turn it all off. Piece of piss. Second of all, disable Cortana. This isn’t hard either; you can either edit the registry or download a registry file and do it that way. I won’t be using Cortana, so this is a no-brainer.

I find the Windows hate by Windows users to be adorable. Remember when XP came out? Everyone hated it. Then, when Vista came out, everyone wanted XP back. Then 7 came out, and guess what? Everyone hated that too (which is fantastic, since people are now saying that 7 is the best Windows). Then 8 came out, and everyone hated it. Now 10 is out and everyone hates this. Every iteration of Windows, people are always like “Ugh, the last one was better”.

You’re impossible. You can’t be pleased. Well, fuck ya, because I love 10. It’s fast, it’s attractive, and it’s packed with features. Stop complaining. If you don’t like it fuck off back to Vista, see how that works for you.

And the other thing is this: you can always roll back to your previous OS if you don’t like 10! It’s a cinch! You get it free by going to the Microsoft website offering the free assistive version of Windows 10 (https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/accessibility/windows10upgrade) and download/install. It keeps EVERYTHING where you left it before - desktop, wallpaper, programs, the works. You just then have Windows 10. If you don’t like it, you can roll straight back to whatever you were running before, no harm no foul.

I’m astounded that Microsoft have released something A) Really good, and B) Free, that WORKS, and people are still shitting on it. After spending the last few days with Win 10 though I can honestly say it’s pretty damn good.


Last updated October 01, 2016


Pennyworth's Ghost September 30, 2016

I upgraded as soon as the beta versions were available for download last summer. Insider trial builds too. Overall I'm pretty pleased with it, but it sucks when the MSoft overlords decide to remove a setting from the control panel, or otherwise gradually degrade the user's control over their own OS/PC's behavior in the name of safety/security. That centralized control is the one thing I don't like very much. It seems like no matter how many times I get rid of OneDrive, it's always going to come right back with the next update.

Johnny Carcinogen Pennyworth's Ghost ⋅ September 30, 2016

I'm hearing this. I'm also hearing that if you don't use it, it's not a problem.

Johnny Carcinogen Pennyworth's Ghost ⋅ September 30, 2016

From what I understand, there are workarounds for every feature you don't like. It's just a matter of googlin' and tweakin'.

Pennyworth's Ghost Johnny Carcinogen ⋅ September 30, 2016

Yes, I was able to disable Cortana much like you described. It's just a pain in the ass.

Johnny Carcinogen Pennyworth's Ghost ⋅ September 30, 2016

I dunno, man, I googled "disable Cortana", the first link offered a reg tweak, and bam. Simples.

Deleted user September 30, 2016

i just got a new laptop w win10 in it i like it idk what the problem is

Johnny Carcinogen Deleted user ⋅ October 01, 2016

Well like I said, there are privacy concerns. The OS automatically sends quite a lot of your personal data to itself and other third parties. You can turn it all off, though, so it's not a huge problem, but people on the internet immediately made a mountain out of a molehill.

Also it's popular to hate anything new these days. Fuckin' morons.

The nerdy princess October 01, 2016

I hated my windows 10 but it has grown in me and I really can't complain now 😂

Johnny Carcinogen The nerdy princess ⋅ October 01, 2016

Me too. It needed some work on my end, though, believe that. I had a lot of tweaking and configuring to do. But every game I load runs at least twice as fast as they did in Windows 7 on the same laptop.

And that's all the matters to me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.