personal numbers in 2016

  • Sept. 15, 2016, 12:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

6:24pm

Well, that was an interesting last entry. Honestly I went back to re-read it a couple of times and I am surprised I was so coherent at the end there. I definitely did not feel coherent in reality. hah. That tipsy feeling hasn’t happened to me in a while. I guess I’m not immune to the effects of alcohol after all. Nice to know I haven’t built my tolerance that high either. ha.

So things have happened since that last entry. We did end up coming in early yesterday like around 8:30am. Called the guy and he didn’t even answer :( Then we waited a while and tried again but he still didn’t answer so she left a message saying she’d call in an hour and a half and we left to breakfast. That was good because I was starving and I do not like being up that early. haha. After breakfast we came back to the office [yay for small towns where the restaurant is right around the corner] and she tried calling again. This time he actually answered and they were able to work stuff out.

Turns out though that the one paper he needed, which we’d found, had to have a signature and the copy we had was missing it. Mom ended up having to call TF and he had to come in after all. I’d missed listening in on the phone call but apparently he didn’t say anything this time around. Surprise! And he said he’d be here around 11:15 to sign.

I got nervous. Like heart racing kind of nervous. I don’t even know why. It’s not that big of a deal, but I guess I didn’t expect him to actually have to come in. I didn’t even wear a cute outfit! ha!

So I sat around trying to relax [and book tickets to Dallas, and tickets from Seattle home, and send work e-mails, and manage our schedules, and create fax cover sheets…] and I saw his truck pull through the parking lot and he came walking in the door. Ignored me, as per usual. He always walks straight to the desk and doesn’t make eye contact right away. He just turned and smiled when he was about half-way in.

They went through their work stuff. I tried to ignore most of what was happening so I could get my work done. At some point the whole Spain thing got brought up again and mom goes, “hey! you’re actually going to get to go to Spain now!” and he turned around and smiled at me as I agreed that that was in fact what I’d been told. Then he says, “yeah, that’s going to happen, but I should probably get her personal number first.” And starts telling me that my mom wouldn’t give him the number. I think I gave some non-committal response like “oh, is that right?”

Later I found out apparently he was whispering to her “you can give me the number, come on” and stuff like that. That’s when she said, “why should I give you the number? She’s RIGHT THERE. Ask her.” Which is the part I heard. I thought it was a response to him saying she wouldn’t give it out, but I guess I missed all that whispering.

After that he laughed and said that because she was my mother and I still lived at home she was pretty much the boss of me and he had to ask her. HAHA! She wishes!
It was that moment that I realized that he really doesn’t know anything about me. We don’t have any friends in common. I know way more about him than he knows about me because clearly he was thinking that I’d just spent my entire life sitting around here living with my mommy. He even joked that she hadn’t “cut the cord” and I laughed but never said anything. She was the one who finally said I’d lived away for several years during college. Way to kill my mystery mom!

She also mentioned that I’d gone to [wedding town] alone over the weekend. He asked if I’d gone on a date…with a boy. haha. Emphasis on boy. I was laughing and said, “oh yeah, on a date to a wedding.” And he started asking about that. Confirming that I’d gone alone to the wedding and saying that he could never do that. He’d feel awkward and weird going alone. I said it wasn’t a big deal. I didn’t have anyone to go with so I just went alone. [I didn’t mention that I’d met up with all my friends there. haha]

I don’t know if mom said something about not inviting him, or he said it. But something came out about how I should have invited him and he goes, “I clean up well.” I think I just chuckled and said, “well I didn’t know” in reference to that being an option. I mean he never even came back to look for me. He was only in there because we called him, so whatever. Big talker.

He got ready to go not long after all this. As he was walking out he said something about “see you for Spain” or something. My brain was just running a million miles a minute about how if I didn’t say anything he was going to walk out again without getting my number and I’d be the one sitting around waiting. So he got to the door and I found the guts to call out, “Hey. I thought you wanted to get my number.” He turned around and was like, “yeah. I mean. I didn’t think you wanted to give it to me…” All kinds of stuttering suddenly shy. haha.

I was trying to find a piece of paper when he pulled up a business card from the front and hands it to me. I said, “oh, you’re going to make me write it on a business card? What if you lose it?” Then I got distracted because I was trying to find a good pen and I was concentrating on how to spell my own name. The card was our standard office card so it didn’t have my name and I always figure that most people don’t know how to spell my name [I use my full name at work, hopefully most people can spell Rose. ha]. So I was trying to make it easy for him. In all caps because my handwriting sucks. I realized when I was done that I wrote super tiny and then had to add the area code when I remembered that his number has a different one. Just in case.

He said he hoped it was the right number and I joked and said that it was either mine or my brother’s because his is only two digits different. haha. And if he called and a guy answered he should probably just hang up. My mom had arrived behind me at the copy machine and joked about my brother being a big guy and TF just smiled one of those “I’m sure I could take him” smiles. [I think he’s into boxing? or used to be.] As he stood at the door to leave he goes, “this better be your number or I’m NEVER coming back here. Ever!” haha. I’m not that cruel.

Then within like two minutes my phone started ringing in my pocket. I was like “no way” and sure enough it was him calling. I was going to say something snarky but just laughed and said hello. He said that it was good that I gave him the right number. I go, “did you really think I’d give you the wrong one?” And he said he just had to make sure it wasn’t my brother. Then he said something about how it was “all over now” and I asked if that was because I couldn’t hide. He said yeah that he’d know how to get a hold of me anytime now and not just Wednesdays. I’m not sure what exactly his words were that made me say, “but you don’t even show up on Wednesdays now” and he just said that that was the day I worked. I think he missed the joke. Or my intentions with the comment. =\

More words were exchanged and I said that I guess I could just not answer if I wanted to hide. He said that he’d call every hour, or every hour on the hour, if I did that. And I was like, “No, no. It’s ok. I’ll answer! Don’t do that.” and he just started laughing. We said bye shortly after that. I think he might have made another comment about not getting rid of him now before he hung up.

Some time around almost 6 I got a text from him. We were on our way home from getting the car looked at for repairs from the accident, and checking out a cool nursery my aunt recommended, and happy hour, of course. :) I was sitting there stretched out in the car when I thought I heard my phone buzzing. I looked over thinking someone was calling, but there was nothing. Within a minute I saw a text come through, quickly followed by a second. It was him. Asking what I did for fun when I wasn’t with my mother. =| I was slightly annoyed by that though I know he’s only teasing. That combined with some limited text thing and I let it sit.

When we got home I went straight outside to hang [for fun?] and ended up playing around with my neighbor’s son who is trying to learn to ride a bike. By the time I got back in it was nearly 7:30 and I still hadn’t answered. I crafted a witty reply. Well I’ll just type it: “Not sit by my phone. hah. Sorry. I’m not good at this text thing. I never know how to answer that question - go outdoors…travel..enjoy good music? What about you?”
Because that’s seriously one of my pet peeve questions. I really never know what to say. I mean, what do I do for fun? Sit on my own and listen to music. Or I lay in bed and stare at the wall? Or I sit outside and watch the birds? I don’t know. I tried to say that in a non-boring way. ha.

About 20 minutes later I get the reply: “Sit by my phone.” In response to what he does for fun.
Ah, a sense of humor I can understand. haha. Except I kind of expected him to follow it up with something more but he never did. Like an hour later I responded with a laugh and said that that couldn’t be all that fun and asked what else?

24+ hours later and we’re still waiting for the response to that one. I sorta expected to hear back this morning. Honestly I was surprised he was texting me last night because I could have sworn he didn’t have signal at his place. JR never did and I know this guy lists his home phone on his voicemail if you call after 3:30pm. Plus he wakes up super early so I figured he’d gone to bed and would respond this morning, but nope. I didn’t really expect anything during the day since he clearly knows I work today [though that didn’t stop me from checking my phone several times]. I did think something might come through after work, but that didn’t happen either. And we were stuck there late, almost 8pm, without lunch or dinner.

Oh well. I don’t know what this is going to be. I don’t really know how he operates. I do know that he talks a big game, but doesn’t always follow through. It’s just easier to deal with someone that doesn’t say things like that. It doesn’t get your hopes up, or give you expectations.

I guess we’ll just wait and see how it goes. The rest of this month is crazy busy for me. Like we have the chamber expo all day tomorrow, then I’m gone again. I’ll be back for a few days next week and then leave again Saturday to help my brother drive up to Seattle. That’ll take me like five+ days. I’ll be back for one and then gone again for another week. So basically I’ll only be in town like six more days this month. Wait ‘till he tries to talk to me one of those days! ha. Jokes on you, kid. ;)

This was clearly longer than I originally intended. But it’s for record’s sake.

rose.
10:24pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.