wheels rollin in 2016

  • Sept. 2, 2016, 12:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

6:06pm

I am super hopped up on coffee right now. Like I probably should have stopped drinking it hours ago and switched to something more sensible, like water. =\ heh. Opps. But the coffee at home was so delicious that I brought the leftovers to work. Then I made a cup of coffee that we had in the back. It may or may not be old, but it tastes alright. I can tell that I’m floating in the coffee haze right now. It doesn’t usually make a difference for me. Every once in a while though I can feel the floaty sensation, which is hard to describe any other way. It’s kind of like being buzzed on alcohol. I don’t know. It suits me fine.

Looks like September is going to be a busy one. We have our annual community expo at the base to attend next week. Not sure if I mentioned it got postponed due to smoke [I think I did?]. It’ll be on Thursday. Then Friday I have the wedding for my good friend Y. Pretty excited about that one. There are possibilities that it will extend throughout the weekend. I’m keeping it open just in case I get the call. We’ll also be taking a weekend trip to Laughlin at some point. My brother called yesterday to ask if I might be able to travel with him if he moves [he’s trying to get back to Seattle], but I’m not sure when or if that’ll happen. And at the end of the month I’ll be getting ready to go to Florida for our yearly convention.

Oh, and today we signed ourselves up for a business expo that the city chamber is putting on week after next. They sent the e-mail a few days ago saying they still had spots and we figured why not? We’re already doing the one at the base next week. We’re pretty much prepared to go to another one.

It’ll be good to get our names out there more. These things tend to attract the fancy people in town and it’ll be good to get some exposure among that crowd. Not that we’re really trying to grow the business. I mean, it would be nice, but it’s just the two of us right now and I’m not sure how much more work we can handle. Or how much more work we actually want to take on. ha. But what the heck? Might as well get out there in the community.

So Mom went to the chamber today and found out the details. The lady called back later and said we need to fill out some forms. We filled the basics out and cut a check and headed over there before they closed at 4pm. I’d met the lady once before when she stopped by the office earlier this year to introduce herself. I remember it was really busy when she came by asking to put up a flyer. Apparently she remembers it very well too! Because she pretty much recalled the exact conversation we had about not being able to post flyers and being the only two working in the office. Weird that she remembers that! Then again, I remembered too and I was in the midst of craziness.

We’d never really had a conversation though and I don’t think she’d met mom because she was busy at the time. So that was interesting. She’s quite loud, which maybe isn’t the best way to describe someone but I pick up on these things. She would be a good friend to have, especially where business is concerned. Plus our quick drop-off-a-check stop turned into like half an hour of talking. And she told us things that maybe she doesn’t share with just anyone. To the point where we walked out and one of the first things mom says is, “why do people trust us with such personal info so quickly?” Lol. We’d just met! But it’s cool. This is good for us! She even said that she hoped our booths would be close together at the community expo next week.

I don’t know what it is about us, but ok. I’ll take it. I like being the kind of person that people feel instantly comfortable with. That has to say good things about us, right?

On the other, slightly more personal, hand: she has the same last name as TF’s baby momma. She’s part of the same family, we learned. I was thinking about this after we left, but mom was the first to say something when we got back to the office. Asking if maybe that was his ex? Neither one of us really think so. Pretty sure she has a different name. We couldn’t come up with it, but they’re definitely related. Like sisters related. And I could easily go check if it is her. I mean, we have paperwork in the back cabinet, but I feel super weird about that. Like mixing business and personal stuff, even though it isn’t “personal” in that way.

Imagine though. What that would be like? If it’s not her, which I don’t think it is, it would still be really weird! I joked with mom that we better be careful and should try to make friends quickly before she finds out. haha. Right now it’s nothing, but if this TF thing were to ever turn into an actual thing then it could get awkward. Even if we avoided hanging out around town where we could be seen. People in this town have a way of knowing everything about everyone, especially a family as connected as that one. I know I’m jumping the gun here, and I won’t even imagine all the possible scenarios on that one, but it’s strange to be that close.

Not that I’m going to live my life any differently. There’s no real reason to be anyone other than who I am. Take it or leave it. Right?

Interesting either way.

rose.
10:34pm
[I finished work, went out to dinner, and am back home hence the late/long entry time :) ]


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.