Yup, Another in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

Revised: 09/01/2016 11:33 a.m.

  • Aug. 31, 2016, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Another Court Day. Not sure what to expect from this one so… could be interesting?

Last night my dreams involved people I’ve met in Tiny Town. That doesn’t happen often because… there aren’t many people here. Especially people that I run into frequently. Especially people that I run into frequently that aren’t criminal defendants.

Of course… after waking up, my mind spiraled into a Time Travel consideration mode. As of today how much would I willingly change… what would I specifically do differently… all of that. And it was different from some other days where I’ve had that thought. And I’ll go into that… just as soon as I get back from court.....

alt text

So… that was court. From 9 until 4. YEAH. Biggest issue was, too, that the entire afternoon was ONE person. Female has so many cases that all 4 lawyers got confused. And when I say 4 lawyers, I mean… the Magistrate, The County Attorney, Myself, and Defense Attorney. Because the defendant had.... a Trespassing Case; a Trespassing Case w/Drug Paraphernalia; a Possession of Marijuana Case; a Public Intoxication Case; and then the fun one.... mine… The County Attorney prosecuted a case of Domestic Assault… but that case also had a Protection Order Violation issue to it. The protection order violation was never tried or dealt with. Then my boss dumps the case on my lap. I look up the case, it no longer has the Domestic Assault (because it was dealt with) but now has TWO Protection Order Violations… from two separate incidents. Which is bizarre. So… a case that was only half dealt with, gets dumped on a different prosecutor to deal with the second half, and the second half spontaneously grows a new part. ODD! Luckily, it was so confusing and bat shit ridiculous that the defense attorney agreed to continue the whole mess since even he didn’t know about the new protection order violation. Yesh. This is what happens when “professionalism” and “procedure” are more… guidelines than rules. The kind of baby town frolics bullshit that certainly makes me feel like this is not a place for someone that wants to grow as a person or a lawyer.

Weird thing… current song stuck in my head? “

” a song we sing at the church where I grew up/where my parents still go/where my niece was baptized. Of course… my mind analyzing all of that comes to three possible conclusions.
(1) I’m subconsciously thinking about this Other Opportunity that I applied to and am, in my own way, praying that God help me out there.
(2) I’m missing my faith. I was once considering Seminary and now I rarely talk about God or my faith. Granted, it is difficult to do around here… hopelessness and despair seem to permeate the atmosphere in this place. But that in itself could be more reason why I am missing my faith.
(3) I’m missing my family, again. As that is a song sung in church, it could simply be that I miss hanging out with my family. Who knows?

Here’s ANOTHER weird thing… in my youth, I was super skinny. Same height I am now (5‘7) and 120 lbs dripping wet. But my head was kind of big, my nose was beaklike, and my hair made this perfect separation from my body like that of the white feathers on a bald eagle compared to the black feathers of the body. I was very hawklike. These days, my body has grown (certainly, my mother and brother and sister in law and wife are all happy to call me fat. To which I respond that after 20 years of people saying “eat more, you’re too skinny” they now have the gall to call me fat for weighing over 200 lbs?) But I’ve grown more, my nose doesn’t look as strange… but I still see some bird like items. And they have now been explained. My neck doesn’t curve properly. Apparently, a neck is supposed to have a natural curve rather like a right parenthesis: ) My neck just just out like an action figure / This is what can make it seem like I have a bit of a hump from certain angles. Now, there is no discussion or plan to fix it… it is simply an interesting anomaly… but like everything else in my life, once someone points it out, it is hard to ignore it.

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, and I’ll likely say it over and over until such time as I escape from this place… but I am so sick of seeing every criminal running with every other criminal in town. OWI case… female defendant. Well… she was driving drunk and high on Meth to the home of somebody that I have as a Mental Health case due to extreme Meth Induced Psychosis. And the female defendant is related to someone that I have in an Indecent Exposure case… and the Indecent Exposure guy, who was obliterated drunk at the time, was hanging out with one of my Juvenile Delinquency Cases. And it is like this in every case. It seems that the people who socialize the most/best in such an isolated craptastic place are the ones that perpetually break the law. Annoying. Especially because (and you knew this was coming) so much of it relates to Alcohol Abuse or Methamphetamine Use.

Interesting COMPLETELY RANDOM TIDBIT… the richest person in Iowa is worth an estimated 3.3 billion dollars. OR because I enjoy thinking of things this way… the current estimates suggest that it would take $682 million to be Batman. The richest man in Iowa could fund 4 Batman Vigilantes if he so chose… and still have $572 million dollars left over.

ANYWAY… back to what I was saying before… TIME TRAVEL CONSIDERATIONS!
alt text
For the first time in a long time… I don’t think I’d set my Time Machine to before High School, or even during High School. While I still regret a lot of things (and certainly wouldn’t need to experience Psycho Violent Ex G/f again)… I’m slowly (or temporarily) coming to terms with everything that happened. It only took, what.... 15 years?! Of course, I’d still do college completely differently in every respect… but, I suppose, not every respect after all. I’d select the same Undergraduate Institution… I’d select the dorm I lived in for most of school… I’d even desire to be on the same floor there most likely. So… similarities… but I would still do a lot of things differently.


Last updated September 01, 2016


Deleted user September 01, 2016

Wow, you would think they would just find her guilty and plop her butt in jail. Oh, I forgot Tiny Town has no jail :( I would make her clean toilets every day for five years in all municipal buildings. They make the law so ridiculously complex that it's totally ineffectual. It's a joke actually . Like the guy that hit me ; no license since age 18, no insurance, on his third DUI that year and all he got from the judge for it was four months in jail. Even he thought it was a joke ! No wonder people consider vigilante justice .
As for Time travel ; I often think about the fact if I had left Frank years ago , I would never have been in that wreck, never had my spine ruined, and never spent so many years unhappy . Yeah, given the opportunity I would definitely reset that Time Machine without hesitation. Nothing that has happened since is anything I would keep . :-(

Firebabe September 01, 2016

Lord, that chick's busier than a debutante in Cotillion season.

Doesn't surprise me that the criminal element hangs together. Like to like as they say. And who else would put up with all the bullshit?

Deleted user September 01, 2016

It tends to take A LOT of time, coming to terms with something from childhood or adolescence. I guess it's because our brains are still developing? Or we have to go through many more experiences (different or some variation of the same), have many more lessons to learn, before something from ten, fifteen, or even twenty years ago can come into the light with our newly found insight.

It sucks BALLS that your parents, siblings, and even wife will call you "fat" with no problem at all. No guilt? No... "Oh shit, I probably shouldn't have said that..." I mean, NOBODY on this earth is a paragon of physicality, and pointing that out to people doesn't serve any real purpose unless you're that person's physician. And even then you're not simply saying, "You're fat. Go for a walk." You're saying, "Your blood pressure is elevated, you are at high risk for diabetes, blah blah..." Which definitely serves a purpose!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.