Oh THAT Teacher in School Chronicles

  • Aug. 31, 2016, 3:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Back in the days when I had the fun classes, there were about 3 ladies that took the class I’m taking now. One of the girls has some kind of issues and the teacher seemed to be kind of hard on her. The other ladies were talking about it and it made me scared to take this woman’s class. Thing is I forgot her name.

Fast forward to last week when I missed the class. When we spoke on the phone, she had that kind of voice that…She was well spoken, clearly heard and was very direct, but nice. So when I get to class this week, there were already others in there. I headed toward the back. She looked up and asked “Are you here for computerized legal research?” Yes, I am. “Okay. I’m asking, since this is a small class, that no one sit in the back row.” Okay. That’s fine. “Are you T*?” Yes, I am. She brought over the sign in sheet. I fill it out, and was bringing it back to her. “Thank you and nice to meet you.” Likewise.

So class was actually good.
We had a slight refresher which actually was jarring. The stuff we were going over was the stuff I “learned” at the beginning of the year in Legal Research and Writing. Makes me feel like what I’ve been learning is just the basics when I need to know the laws inside and out. Hmm…

Anyway, she is not as bad as I thought. Her identity was confirmed when she asked “Who here has had Mr. Holmes? Rodney Holmes?” I was the only one to raise my hand. They went to law school together. She has a law degree, but works in a law library and was one of the creators/administrators of Lexis Nexis, which is a big deal tool (along with West Law) in the legal world. She is a rather big deal.

I think I need a refresher all around. Or stay in school for my bachelors. I don’t know what to do. She’s tough, but she is that good kind of tough where you don’t feel stupid for not knowing afterward, but after all the toughness you learn something. If I had listened to these other ladies, I’d have feared her and thought the worse. In my old age, however, I have learned to put aside what others say and see for myself.

So this will be a nice journey.


Deleted user September 01, 2016

I am glad you didn't listen to the other ladies. She sounds like someone you can learn a lot from. Yay!

Sister Deleted user ⋅ September 01, 2016

Indeed!

Gilraent September 01, 2016

I love teachers like that :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.