Sunday visiting in Book of summer

  • Aug. 26, 2016, 8:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I discussed the subject of my brother coming on Sunday . Last Sunday Mum had lots of visitors. It really wasn’t good. Too many and I thought about if she gets as many this week, with Stephen coming over, he wouldn’t get near her. So I am requesting to the congregation that she has no visitors on Sunday.
Cliff said to me on the way out, that she may not speak to him. Imagine that, him coming over to see her and she won’t speak to him, would she really do that? Quite possible. He didn’t come over to see her when she had her stroke 14 or so years ago. So she might think “don’t think you can bother now”. But this is me putting words into her mouth. As I said the other day, Stephen didn’t phone very often, because when he did, he got a lecture about not phoning. I didn’t tell him to come over in as many words, but indicated , as the Macmillan nurse had, if he left it for a couple of weeks, it would be too late.
Katherine visited her tonight so it saved me ringing her to arrange her covering for me next week. She will pick Cliff up every day and take him to the hospital and take him home. He can also call her if he needs help,like he would call me and she will also do Mum’s washing.
A friend here has just been on a cruise on the same line and she said the food was the best she ever tasted.
Packing is completely different to my usual holidays. I am taking much more and makeup and jewellery and shoes. With Nail varnish and creams I think I am suddenly becoming “high maintenance”.
I have the tickets and luggage labels in the small case.
I am taking the big case over to Robert tomorrow so he can add his suit and shirts.
When he rang tonight he said he had booked a table for 7.30 because I had said I was going over. That would make it impossible to visit Mum and while I was going over to take the case, I wasn’t staying late,as after all, we have all next week together. He seemed a little annoyed that I was asking him to change it to 6pm or get something in the house.
I don’t know when I will get chance to see Naomi and Morgan.
Naomi will have to check on her dad every day and make sure he has taken his tablets and got food.
I would also like her to visit Mum again and be in touch with Cliff.
Peter isn’t interested in anything apart from how much an invalid he is. But there is no love lost between him and Mum anyway. Mum wouldn’t thank you for a visit from him. She considers he has ruined my life, says she never liked him, although she initially was match making.


Deleted user August 26, 2016

It's got to be difficult for you to try to juggle everything for your Mom, Peter, and Cliff. And get ready for the trip as well .

blackpropaganda August 27, 2016

It surprised me how many clothes the ladies had - as for food - breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner, late night buffet - you will need to do some dancing. Hope you have a great time

Lady of the Bann blackpropaganda ⋅ August 27, 2016

I have lots. I counted one for each night right from the start and said I had enough but then I bought 5 more so having to leave some at home. Would love to dance. Not sure Robert would be so keen. He would only ever dance in class so we stopped going.

blackpropaganda Lady of the Bann ⋅ August 27, 2016

There are the dance teachers - and also two men who are happy to dance with the ladies in the social dancing - not sure how R would react - but they are very nice fellows

Lady of the Bann blackpropaganda ⋅ August 27, 2016

And that food is scaring me.

blackpropaganda Lady of the Bann ⋅ August 27, 2016

We used to have a light lunch - small tea - and never had the 11 pm food since we were knackered by then anyway.

Deleted user August 27, 2016

I'm so happy for you that you're able to get away on a cruise. I find cruises to be the most relaxing vacations I can take. I hope that you can leave all behind and enjoy yourself.

New moon girl August 28, 2016

New moon girl August 28, 2016

Enjoy the cruise & wear your lovely dresses. Relax and forget everything for a while xxx

Always Laughing August 31, 2016

I hope you can enjoy the cruise and you aren't high maintenance you are being fabulous.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.