Why my little one was born with Clubbed Feet. in Adventures of New baby and family

  • Aug. 20, 2016, 3:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So going around with a baby that has casts on his legs I get a huge amount of stares, glares and I think people trying to figure out why a 6 month old is in to his thigh casts on both his legs. Sigh...... I hate to think they are thinking the worse of me and I don’t know if people know clubbed feet or why he would have clubbed feet. It was a foreign concept to me before this. Thinking things don’t happen like that now. We have all this technology.... Yeah okay. I want to say… PLEASE ask me about his feet. He’s got the story to tell. He really is a MIRACLE BABY.

It was close to this time last year that everything occurred. it was more near the end of August. I was in to be checked after the amniocentesis and had an ultrasound. The tech checked his heartbeat and everything and all seemed to be well till it wasn’t. She suddenly got up and left. Oh crap I thought what is going on. Little one has a heartbeat so they are alive but I knew anytime a tech leave in the middle of an exam it means bad news. Million things went on in my head. She just showed me the baby is fine. No weird looking shapes, has a heartbeat.....I laid there for what seemed longer than it was and the Dr came into the room. Your fluid is low.
Okay.
It means your amniotic sac has ruptured. Have you noticed any fluid leaking?
Me: Ummm yeah I think? (recalling an incident earlier in the week I was none to quick to tell)
The rest of it was unpleasant...... possible infection, preemie, NICU, miscarry, bedrest, hospitalization at 24 weeks if make it that long. My heart sunk. I didn’t listen well. You kind of tune them out when they start rattling on about things. This I remember: You saw the amnio. It went perfect. I really don’t understand how or why this happens, but it does. Personally , I have never had this happen before. Sigh......I thought after all of that I still don’t know about the test and does it matter? At this point I was 16 weeks-4 months… it was time to tell people. What do I say.?? I’m pregnant but it doesn’t look hopeful. Do I wait to tell. At 16 weeks I would need surgery if something happened. Sigh....
It was bleak… very bleak.

It got worse......

2 days later: The kids had School Orientation and when it was over we were starving. I went to pull into a fast food restaurant and had a gush of fluid come out. Its done! I thought to myself. This is the end. Still feeling fluid come out and knew I wasn’t peeing myself. I decided not to go and dropped them off at home told them to grab something (dad was home) and went to the nearest hospital. After I changed and put a pad on.

To my surprise the fluid was low but not any lower than 2 days ago. A little sense of relief. I was sent home. (this was not a delivery hospital and they would have had to ship me out.) That night I had contractions that kept waking me up. I was going to see the doctor in the morning they would be able to tell if I was done. Suddenly there they stopped and the fluid was still the same....low but not worse. Then I thought......This little one is going to make it. However the doctors didn’t think so.

I got the miscarriage, infection, 24 week hospital bedrest, NICU, Micropreemie talk more times than you would care to know. Somewhere during that time they mentioned growth restriction and clubbed feet.

Apparently…around 15- 18 weeks if baby doesn’t have enough fluid , it causes clubbed feet.

So this is the only problem this child has after his adventure....clubbed feet and why he has it.


Deleted user August 20, 2016

Found you on the front page

After all that he went through sounds like a strong little guy with a strong mother !

lessoff January 07, 2017

whoa crazy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.