sudden boldness in 2016

  • Aug. 17, 2016, 5:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

12:32pm

I told you I’d update right? Well I have big updates because y’all know I just love to gush about any and all things boy related. hah. Some day I’ll grow up, I swear....ok, probably not. ;)

This kid was hitting it hard today. At some point he jumped from causal remarks over the phone to my mother to full on obvious comments out loud and/or to my face. It’s like, “whoa, when did you decide to make this transition and go all out?” Because I don’t remember doing anything in particular to encourage it. I mean, before a couple of weeks ago I had not even seen him since like March or April some time. I guess that gave him enough time to sit with the idea. Yikes.

Geez I cannot even concentrate on what I am doing right now. My head is just swimming with all of the words. I don’t think I’ve ever had anyone blatantly flirt with me like that, especially at work in front of my mother! Like I don’t know if I should be impressed that he has the guts to do that, or completely horrified that he’s involved my mom in everything. ha. Too crazy weird.

But it kind of makes sense. I do spend an exceptional amount of time with my mother. She’s basically my everything these days and anyone that wants to get along with me is going to have to get along with her. Which, honestly, is probably the easier of the two. I am no where near as personable or outgoing as she is. I’m still running the whole quiet/mysterious gig around here. It’s just hard to wrap my mind around the whole situation. It’s clearly been a long time since anyone’s hit on me. heh. =\

I know that I said that I wasn’t going to get wrapped up in this, and I won’t, but it’s hard not to want to remember all of the little moments.
Like how he actually walked in and smiled at me. And how that silly joking phone call yesterday must have convinced him to be so bold today. Because not long after he got there I walked to the backroom to put a paper away and Mom was saying how she was going to need a filing cabinet for him, since he’s got so much paperwork. I couldn’t hear everything but he was saying that he really should have a cabinet because he was going to be coming around a lot more often. I was about to walk back out when I heard this and I stopped and pretended to mess with the cabinet to stall. She asked why and he said, “didn’t your daughter tell you? we’re going to be hanging out now (maybe he said “dating?” I’m not sure)” I yelled from the back about how I didn’t know that that was happening either. And this crazy woman goes, “Hey, if you like her why don’t you just tell her already!” =| He said he was shy and couldn’t handle the rejection. I was walking out at that moment and I giggled a lot and walked back to my desk. Because what the heck are you supposed to say!?!

[sidenote: It’s the evening now and I was just mentioning how we have to get up early again tomorrow and Mom goes: “well, when you marry the flirt you’re going to have to get up at 3:30am to make his lunch” To which I responded, “he can make me coffee and leave it in the pot!” Because I’d made a comment about getting up earlier at the office and he asked what early was. I told him 8 :) and he said that he can’t even sleep in ‘till 8. He normally gets up around 4am. Not happening. And what the heck mom? From wanting to send me on a date to marrying me off already?!?]

He ended up sitting with us for about an hour because the guy they needed to talk to wouldn’t answer. You could tell he wanted/needed to get back to work but he said he’d committed to both places and didn’t know what to do. We learned so much about him! Y’all seriously need a mother like mine, because I won’t ever have to ask any of the tough questions. She took care of that for me.
Like pretending that she thought he was still together with his baby momma so she could find out the details. She said it several times despite his assurance that he hadn’t been with her since the kid was a baby.
Then she said something about how she thought he had a girlfriend. She was sure of it. He said he hasn’t had a girlfriend in like two years. That I guess she was young and had a life plan. Mom goes, “and you weren’t a part of it?” HA. She’s fierce that one! He said no that they had both had an opportunity to go to Texas but he couldn’t leave the area. Not with his kid. I guess they broke up because of all that. Her being career driven and what not.

I seriously always pegged him for more of the player type. He’s got this tough demeanor that perhaps is more of a facade. At least it seems that way with the details he was giving out. He seemed like he was being pretty open and honest about it all so it’s hard not to believe him. Part of me wants to remain cautious but the other part just feels like he really is being honest. There’s no reason to lie. I mean, except for like trying to mess with me. But I don’t know.

Later when Mom was on the phone he walked over to my desk and asked when I was going to take him out on a date. I said that I wasn’t going to take him anywhere. He asked why not and I said that he was supposed to take me out. So he asked where I wanted to go but I said that it was also up to him to decide where to take me. I’m not going to set up my whole date! He’s gotta put some work into this. I’m not going to make it that easy!
Around the same time he grabbed one of the business cards up front and remarked on how it didn’t have my personal number on it. I did a lot of laughing and asked if he thought I would just give that info out to every client that walked in the door. He said that that’s what he had on his business card. But I said I wasn’t like that. That I had a phone but I never use it. He asked why and I said I just didn’t like to talk much. He asked if I just didn’t like people and I said “yeah that too”. haha. And he made a face like “wow that’s intense” and I said especially the people in this town. To which he said that he was from here and I said I’d take it all back then. All while laughing of course.

He never did straight up ask for my number though. In hindsight I probably should have offered it up but I didn’t really know how to throw it out there. I thought he’d ask. But now I’m realizing that we probably won’t have a work reason to get together again for a while. He’ll either have to be really bold and come look for me, or we’ll have to wait and see how long it’ll be before there’s an excuse.

During all the waiting he did mention that at least he didn’t think this was a waste of his time. That we were learning new things about each other. Of course my mom’s next comment was “but you don’t know anything about Rose!” Yeah. Let’s remind him of that! haha. He said that it was fine because he was fb stalking me. We both started laughing because seriously? Of all the people in the world I think mine is probably the most private. haha. He said it was too hard to stalk people online anyway. It’s true that we were learning a lot about him but I didn’t give up any information. [It tends to be like that when Mom’s talking anyway. I remember the one time ck said that he realized she took up the spotlight and my jaw dropped. No one’s ever said anything like that to me before…]

What else? Let’s see. I can’t think of any other specific things off of the top of my head right now. I’m sure they’ll come to me throughout the night. He was doing an awful lot of staring and eye contact smiling though. Like way more than usual. And I was doing a lot of smirking, and smiling, and flirtatious looks sharing. At one point he was staring at me so intently that I didn’t know what to do. I could see him out of the corner of my eye so I kept glancing over and smiling, thinking that that would get him to turn around, but he never did. He was just watching me. He’s never done anything like that before.

At some point he was talking about his place and he said that he was living in JR’s old place and he stopped to say that he thought it was my “cousin’s” old place. Ha. I said that I knew who he was talking about but that we weren’t related. This strange look crossed his face and he said he didn’t know why he thought that. I can only guess what was running through his mind at that moment. Like suddenly realizing that we aren’t related and maybe wondering why we spend so much time together? He had to have had a reason for assuming we were related.

Oh and there’s drama going on with JR. He said he’d stop by tomorrow and hopefully give me all the scoop. Drama with the girl, and her family, and who knows what. He sent me some texts about it over the weekend after I had trouble getting a hold of him. We’ll see tomorrow.

I’m going to give this flirt thing some time. I won’t make the same mistakes again and this is definitely not something to go into lightly. Although if I were crazy I’d dive right in to the deep end because there were mentions of winter trips to the mountains and taking me to Spain! ;)
[The Spain thing was because they were talking about it and he asked if I’d also visited. When I said no he said I should foot the bill for us to go since he hasn’t been either. I said that when he got all his money he could take us but apparently he didn’t want to wait that long…Too bad I ain’t paying. haha]

rose.
10:27pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.