Nine in Summer 2016

  • Aug. 9, 2016, 5:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Prompt for today:    Have you ever been to see an NFL training camp? 

As promised yesterday., the entry from back then.  I didn’t write a ton about it.

What to do when you’re bored - 8/9/2002


Me? Oh, I drove six hours one-way to watch a 45 minute football practice, then drove home. :-D

Went up to Carlisle to see Redskins training camp. It was really fucking surreal to be back in Carlisle. I guess seven years is a long time, but....

It might be that already, everything from that year is sort of a blur. You go someplace for just one year, and things don’t seem to fit together after awhile.

Biggest thing I’ll remember about Carlisle is my waist size. Ain’t gettin’ into those pants anytime soon....

My hip seriously hurts after the trip.


What do I remember the most? Meeting Danny Wuerffel and Shane Matthews. Seeing the punters try to land punts right between the “1,” and the “0” on the ten-yard line.

A lot of it was really running through the speed of the vaunted “Fun ‘n Gun” offense. I didn’t see the morning practice where they taped their #1 pick, Patrick Ramsey, to the goal post.

Maybe that had the potential to be a good team. Marvin Lewis, now of Bengals’ fame, was the Assistant Head Coach. While Spurrier had made his name in college, he’d played (niners, Bucs), and coached (Tampa Bay Bandits) in the pros previously. Watching the offense, I was able to pick out the difference between the passing progressions and anything I’d done before.

Now, what for tomorrow. Actually, it’s a bit of a cop-out, but I’m going to write about water. From General Jack D. Ripper in Dr. Strangelove to the covered roadway I saw on the way to work this morning. What are the most clear memories you have of water?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.