Thoughts about Dating in New Beginnings

  • Aug. 7, 2016, 5:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So there’s this woman…always the precursor to a good conversation, right? Anyways, there’s this woman I kind of work with. At least, she works for my company. My company acquired another business recently, and some of its employees were assimilated into its new division. So, a previously vacant set of cubicles is now occupied be an entirely new group of employees. Among those employees is a ridiculously pretty woman named Jacquelyn. She’s attractive in that “girl next door” way.

In all honestly, I probably wouldn’t have noticed her had I not noticed her noticing me. I felt a pair of eyes on me. When I “caught” her looking she didn’t turn away suddenly. Instead, she gave me a friendly smile, which I returned. That happens almost every time I take that route somewhere, a pick-me-up I’ve been conscious not to abuse. At a distance, she keeps her cool; the few times we’ve run into each other in closer proximity, she’s done awkward things exactly like I would do if I had a slight crush on someone. For example, I was walking through the coffee area when she happened to be there talking to a colleague. When she saw me, she stopped mid-sentence and said “hi” to me. I’m pretty sure she’s single, too. At least, she doesn’t wear any sort of ring.

Maybe I’m misreading things. Maybe she’s just being friendly. I’d just like to talk to her is all. That’s my conundrum. Even if she is smitten with me, I have no idea how to proceed. What would a socially competent person do? This is why I’m thinking about dating. Specifically, I’m thinking about getting an online dating profile. I need to develop some social skills. I need to know when a woman is actually conveying interest. I really need to correct this deficiency so that if I ever do meet a woman who could be the love of my life, I don’t miss out because I have no idea what to do.


Timmy™ August 07, 2016

"What would someone with social skills do?"

I don't know, but as someone without social skills, I'd ask her if she likes cheese and see where it goes. : D Nonsensical conversation has far less pressure than straight-up asking someone on a date.

Star Maiden August 12, 2016

Do you use a chat thing at work? I'd just send a message randomly. See if she's liking it there etc. Simple t things that lead to more conversation.

Robbo Star Maiden ⋅ August 14, 2016

Yes, we have an instant messenger tool with our email system. Wouldn't doing so be excessively forward? It's the same reason I'm reluctant to walk up to her desk and introduce myself. I wish I could just bump into her in the coffee area, break room, or hallway. I mean, my desk is right next to the water cooler area, and she must be incredibly thirsty all day long because I never see her there.

Star Maiden Robbo ⋅ August 15, 2016

Maybe? But that shouldn't stop you!

Trust me, most men do it. I've even done it to some guys.

Just don't send like a million messages and it will be fine!

Small Town Girl August 14, 2016

She sounds interested to me! Go for it!

Marg August 23, 2016

Yep she's definitely interested. I would do the Messenger thing as well - a good way to break the ice. You could even make a joke about the being thirsty thing but if you're not comfortable doing that just say Hi just wondered how you're settling in or something similar. Good luck!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.