January 07 2014 in Mental Masturbation in Montréal: Confessions from the Boulevard

  • Jan. 7, 2014, 3:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So much to write about, so little motivation.

When I'm wracked with ambivalence - which is almost-every-minute of every-single-day, you get... this.

Because: it resonates.

AGAINST HESITATION by Charles Rafferty

If you stare at it long enough

the mountain becomes unclimbable.

Tally it up. How much time have you spent

waiting for the soup to cool?

Icicles hang from January gutters

only as long as they can. Fingers pause

above piano keys for the chord

that will not form. Slam them down

I say. Make music of what you can.

Some people stop at the wrong corner

and waste a dozen years hoping

for directions. I can’t be them.

Tell every girl I’ve ever known

I’m coming to break her door down,

that my teeth will clench

the simple flower I only knew

not to give . . . Ah, how long did I stand

beneath the eaves believing the storm

would stop? It never did.

And there is lightning in me still.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.