I am Dolly the Sheep in Procrastination Journal

  • Jan. 7, 2014, 3:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have had the jarring realization that I want to be a pediatrician because it's the only way I will be able to have kids.

No, I am biologically unable to have kids. It's not my uterus or anything, it works perfectly well (as I was helpfully reminded yesterday). It's just that I have horrible reproductive fitness. Is it horrible to talk like I'm a married woman desperately trying to have a baby but I can't? Sorry, people with real problems.

Anyway, this is why Dolly had her lambs later in life. In lecture they called it "delayed reproductive fitness" and a lightbulb went off in my head. So that's what it is. Except in my case, it's "absent reproductive fitness."

Because think about it. You want to grow up to be a successful career lady and mom. But really, falling in love, getting married, having a family is pure fantasy talk. I mean, at least I'm on the track to becoming a doctor. The possibility of me having a love life is growing less and less viable as I get older. I mean, there's probably a "critical period" like they talk about in language acquisition. Seriously. Teens=gone. Early twenties=gone.

I can't even be a cat lady spinster because I'm allergic to cats. I will probably collect a super easy animal like dead butterflies.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.