Better and thank you in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Aug. 6, 2016, 5:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I put the whiny entry on Private. Want to thank all of you that left comments and offered prayers. It helped. Bless you. Not sure what got into me as he is generally always negative but it just got to me a lot worse on Thursday. So thank you!!

I dug out my big girl panties and do what I’ve always done when I’m stressed and trying to fight the dark cloud. I went to work. I weed eated yesterday morning for a couple three hours and when I was hot and tired, I let O weed eat. lol He wanted to. Begged me to let him, and he lasted maybe 20 minutes. I’ve got some years before I turn it over to him, and then maybe not then. I did another 30 minutes or so, but I was hot and getting a big shakey since I hadn’t eaten and not much to drink. I then had him use the leaf blower on the porch and driveway and then we came in and got something to eat. It was a duel duty as I put some bacon on to cook, I got this crazy wild hair and started chopping cucumbers to make sweet relish. I had the cucumbers, green and red peppers and onions chopped and sitting in cold salt water while we ate our egg sandwiches with bacon on biscuits. His had cheese. After the two hour soak I drained the chopped stuff and rinsed it a couple of times. While it was draining I combined the sugar, vinegar, mustard and celery seed and got it boiling. Once I added the chopped stuff it simmered and I then I put it in the hot 1/2 pint jars. Put the 8 1/2 pints in the pot for the water bath and once it was done, I put the jars on a dishtowel to drain and cool. The lids were popping before I got them all out of the pot. I covered all the jars to keep them from cooling to fast cause I didn’t want any to break. Never had that happen and don’t want to either.

By this time is was late afternoon and I was pooped. O had been on my cell phone watching videos and never heard a peep out of him until I started cooking the vinegar mixture. Oh the complaining. lol He finally adjusted to it and I had put my exhaust fan on level 5 which also helped. Even J came out of his room to find out what the smell was all about. lol

I sent A a message to let her know that I would n’t be coming into town with O so she called me and asked me if I wanted her to bring home something for mine and J’s supper. I had her pick up something for J, but I still wasn’t hungry and told Her I’d figure out something for me later.

I ended up fixing a tomato and leftover bacon sandwich. The bacon was a bit hard, but it was good. I ate about 1/2 of it and my doorbell rang.

I had a surprise when I opened the door as it was the guy that retired same time I did. He had sent word thru A several weeks ago that we needed to meet for lunch again, but I’d just not had time. He was checking to make sure I was ok. Said I was just BUSY and they are the same. They didn’t come in as they were on their way home from picking up 2 of their grands who had gotten horrific sunburns. It was during our talking outside that big black clouds appeared and it started raining. Huge drops of rain and they decided they better head on home. Within 10 minutes it was raining in torrents. And again, one of the tomato plants is leaning after the hard and forceful rain. I’m tired of trying to keep them upright but I’ll figure something out. Cannot get a stake deep enough so will come up with something else if I can. I’ve built all kinds of contraptions to make things work, so maybe I’ll figure out a contraption to keep them off the ground. They aren’t yet, but very close. Thankfully it is only one of the plants.

I have to buy more vinegar, celery seed, and salt so will go to the store when it gets daylight. I ordered the weight jiggler for the pressure cooker so I’ll have it if I need it this year. And I might. All the other things I’ve canned just need to be done in a water bath so I’ve been lucky thus far. Not sure how long it will take it to get to me, but I’m hoping by the end of next week if not sooner. It is little compared to some things I’ve ordered, but have never ordered from this place either. Time will tell.

My home will be paid for in November!!! YAY!!

Take care and God Bless


ConnieK August 06, 2016

We are all allowed down days. Lord knows I get my share!

Lady of the Bann August 06, 2016

I pickled onions a few years ago, I remember that smell. Even when I make sweet and sour sauce, I use 3 tablespoons of vinegar, 3 of soft brown sugar and bring to boil, it smells something the same. I then add juice from a can of pineapple and a little tomato purée. And cornflour to thicken. voila!

aunty EM August 06, 2016

My mom always told me that the best way to "get over" something was to WORK!!! She was right, of course.

middle age pearl aunty EM ⋅ August 06, 2016

Yes she was

cardslinger August 06, 2016

I think your dad and my Mom are very similar. My sister is taking the brunt of her nastiness now because she moved home ( she left home at age 16 to get away from our mom ) to help take care of Mom but she shouldn't have moved in with her. Big Mistake! They are fighting all the time nd my sis is just 4 weeks post life saving surgery remember. Not sure if I read your post but I can imagine. Do you feel guilty saying anything negative about your Dad? I write very little because I was taught to never speak ill of anyone and who would believe your parent is not a loving, caring adult? Anyway, all that to say I sympathize with you and your situation. It is so difficult an my fear/realization is that it will never get any better. Hugs. I've found that walking my dog always helps.

Now.......mortgage free! Woohoo! Won't that feel great? Congratulations!!!!

middle age pearl cardslinger ⋅ August 06, 2016

Thank you. I believe PB and the friends like yourself allow me to get it out, receive support and understanding and it makes me know I'm not alone or the horrible daughter that gets so terribly frustrated and scared. I don't know what to do to help him and out of the 3 of us kids, I seem to see him at his worse when he's "out of it". The mean streak we all have been subjected to that gift of his. Again thanks.

crystal butterfly August 06, 2016

Happy the home will be paid for. You did it pretty fast I think. Way to go.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.