no shot jokes in 2016

  • Aug. 4, 2016, 12:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

3:27pm

Well I’m currently sitting at work, multi-tasking. [Shhh!]
Actually, “multi-tasking” has kind of been the word of the day. I have been running around all over the place trying to get everything done since I woke up this morning.

I jumped [ok. not really. I dragged myself] out of bed this morning and went straight to work. Got dressed and gathered laundry from every part of the house I could find. Threw that into the washing machine and ran out back to help dismantle my pool.

sidenote: Did I tell y’all that I made a pool? In true redneck fashion too! See, we are building these planters in the backyard, finally trying to get everything setup out there, and they are circles about 8ft in diameter. We’ve made three, so far. At some point I got the bright idea to find a tarp, lay it inside, and fill it with water. Kind of like those pictures of rednecks who cover their truck beds and splash around? Anyway, we didn’t have a tarp so eventually Mom picked one up at the store for me [because she’s clearly the best mother ever! giving into my weird ideas.] It turned out amazing! I only got to use it three or four times before it got gross. We’re dealing with fire smoke floating around and it was in the 100s so bugs and particles gathered quickly. But it was still great. Super fun! The first day we just sat inside and drank beer. The other days I filled it up higher and laid around in the water, while still drinking beer. haha!

So we had to dump all the water out because it had gotten really bad. We wanted to wait until we got back because we are going to rototiller the land and will need to soften it up, but it couldn’t sit that long. All the water was dumped and we hosed it down and hung it on our new clothesline. [We also built a new one of those out back! We’ve been full-on project mode around here!]

Then I ran inside to print plane tickets. Followed by switching laundry and starting a new load. Then went out front to mow the lawn. Mom started edging as I finished and I grabbed a broom to sweep it all up. We finished at the same time and wrapped it all up. Ran to take a shower. Ate breakfast. Switched some more laundry. Got ready for work. Finished laundry. And made it to work before 11:30a [we start at noon].

All in all, pretty productive. I had a few clients call as we walked in the door but they took a while to get here so I killed time at the beginning. The flirt was supposed to come in at noon but he was late so we called and left a message. He called back later. I answered and we did a quick exchange of hellos, then I told him to hurry up. hah. He said he was running behind at work and that he’d sign out asap and head this way. Well, first he said 5-10 minutes but then I said he had to be here before 1:30 and that’s when he said he was on his way out. Came running in here not long after with paperwork in hand. :)

He sorta avoided eye contact and walked straight towards mom’s desk but then glanced over and said hi. I guess he was in a hurry and/or embarrassed because of the comments the other day. He always walks in kinda shy after something like that. The funny thing is that he totally says stuff about “taking shots” or whatever over the phone with mom but never to me. He was very polite and business-like on the phone today. haha.

There were some comments after he was here a while and had warmed up. I tried to lighten things up with my usual wit and charm. Like he came over to charge his phone by my desk shortly after he arrived and after he asked if it was okay I said it was fine because this way I could check his messages for him. He said he didn’t care. ha. Later I had to make some copies of his id and he teased me asking if I’d made an extra copy so that I could keep his picture around. My response, “Maybe…” with my cool smirk. =]

He went on to ask if I’d known that my mom tried to set me up on a date with him the other day over the phone. I said I knew nothing about that and we all laughed giving Mom a hard time. She just told him to be quiet so she could concentrate. ha. Way to kill it mom!

I always come up with about a million different responses after the fact. Like now, just sitting here I’m thinking about how I could have asked what his thoughts on that were. Or made a joke about when he’d like to take her up on her offer. So many responses come to mind!
But then again, it’s hard to flirt with someone while your mom’s sitting there listening. ha. That was always the problem with ck too. Not that we were particularly flirty, but there was always someone else around. At least right up until the end when we started hanging out on our own. It didn’t make much of a difference with him, but the sensor/filter did tend to disappear. She does kind of hinder the quick thinking responses though, because I’m just not going to bother coming up with stuff I can’t/won’t say. [Plus, you know, I’m shy and quiet and that plays its own role in this]

I don’t remember everything that was said. They couldn’t get a hold of the guy they needed to speak to so he wasn’t here for very long. He did mention that he thought we were dragging things out because we wanted him to keep coming over to hang out with us. haha. Then mom goes, “but why? You don’t even bring lunch like your brother does!” [She conveniently left out the fact that it took us like 4 years to get his brother to bring us lunch. haha] She wouldn’t tell him which one so he started rattling off names. Turns out he has 6 brothers and like 3 sisters?! Crazy!

He made an appointment for after we get back and when he was leaving she told him to write it down in his phone. He said, “no that’s ok. Just have your daughter call me to ask how I’m doing and she can remind me then.”
Turns out after he left we discovered we needed more information so I did end up having to call. I left a voicemail saying that it was me already and that I needed him to call me back. No response. A while later mom called back to get his house number off his voicemail and he answered and she said we missed him. She had threatened to tell him that I missed him already but didn’t. When I realized he picked up I yelled, “oh! so you answer her call!” and she repeated to him that I was upset he ignored me. hah. Apparently he didn’t get the call. Whatever! It’s fine.

He never did mention anything about tequila or taking shots while he was here. Mom and I joked, after he left, that he’s all talk and no action. And when I brought up that she’d apparently offered me up as a date she goes, “well if he wants to ask you out he should say something to you, don’t you think?” Which yeah. That’s exactly what I think. Although I do sorta like this back and forth thing we have going. No commitment. No awkwardness. No weird feelings involved. Just fun. =)

Oh. He did make a comment about my watch. I was standing next to him waiting for copies and I’d noticed out of the corner of my eye that he was looking me up and down. Out of nowhere he goes, “military time?” And it caught me off guard until I realized he was looking at my watch. I just glanced at it, saw it had 13-something, then said “yeah” and laughed. Because again, I couldn’t come up with anything witty. heh.

I’ll have some time to work on that while I’m gone. We’ll see how it goes next time he comes in. He’s definitely putting more effort into the jokes/teasing now than before so who knows.

Gotta run. Time to close.

rose.
6:04pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.