falling into place in 2016

  • Aug. 1, 2016, 11:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

6:26pm

Hello August.

I cannot believe you are here again. It’s been so long and yet not nearly long enough. =|

The closer we get to the end of the year the closer I get to going back to work. While I love the idea of working again [and the free lunches, and fun people, and all that] I am never quite ready to go back. It just sort of jumps up on me and then I’m neck deep in it and I am struggling to make it through to the other side. You never know what it’ll have in store for you either. You never know who you might meet at the end of the season; or who will disappear.

I found out today that one of our clients got a divorce. I called the only number on file looking for the wife. The husband called back and said they got a divorce and he didn’t have any phone number to reach her. I had NO IDEA what to say. I did the involuntary shock and then started rambling about being sorry and not having any other number. Whoops. They were always so good together, but Mom and I talked about how we both noticed some issues when they came in this year. He’s typically very funny and he was making jokes this year but they felt strained and awkward. Plus she seemed to be picking on him and/or annoyed.

It’s always so awkward to end up in a conversation like that though. What am I supposed to say? Congratulations or I’m sorry to hear that? I guess it depends on the person and situation so it’s super hard to tell how they feel about it. And I really liked the two of them too. =( Bummer.

Also, I found out that JR moved his wedding date up. [Well technically I saw something about it on fb a few days ago but I was not going to believe it until he told me himself]. They’ve been planning for next year and now suddenly they’re getting married in September. Like 50-something days September!

I asked if there was any particular reason they’d moved up the date but he said, “no, not really.” Whatever that means. He’d mentioned something about happy hour today [we joke about who’s going to make dinner and stuff] and I shot him a text telling him to come over for real, but he never showed. I wanted to get all the gossip on everything because there has to be a reason why they would suddenly move it up out of nowhere. And does anyone else find it weird that he decided to get married in the same month that his ex got married? Seems suspicious to me.

But I’m stuck not being able to say much. We have the work relationship going on and I have to keep that professional. And even though I think that he’s being a total moron and is going to lose out on so much I can’t really say a lot. Financially he’s definitely f-ing up by not waiting until next year to combine finances, but that’s not my money. Personally he’s going to be unhappy, but that’s also none of my business. I mean, I’d hate to marry someone I was still actively complaining about on a regular basis [and calling a bitch!] but what do I know?!

I just hate to watch him f-ck everything up. It hurts my heart, and my pride because damnit, I worked so hard to help dig him out of that giant hole!!!

sigh What can ya do?

In other news: we went into the office today and found a letter as soon as we walked in the door. It was an important letter for the flirt [who I’d been thinking about lately since it’s been so long..aka my weird psychic energy ha]. Mom ended up calling him because we are going to need a bunch of copies of paperwork and he needs to come in.

He said he couldn’t make it in today. We were only there for a couple of hours on an unofficial work day. But he said that he would go in on Wednesday [our regular hours] and then I heard Mom start doing that chuckling/embarrassed/nervous laugh that she does. It’s hard to describe, but it’s easy to distinguish. So I knew something was up.
She keeps up the laughter and repeats out loud, “he wants to know if my daughter is going to be here.” And of course she’s dragging out all of her words making it a big deal. I respond, “Yes, she will be here. Don’t forget the tequila..” I mumbled that last part though because it suddenly dawned on me that I should probably stop saying things like that in the office around clients. I mean it’s not like saying it with JR when we actually have had tequila together [and beer, and whiskey, and…].
We are not friends with the flirt outside of the office though. We’ve never seen him outside of the office or made any transition to being friends rather than just the professional client relationship. Sure the jokes have been made in the office a couple of times but it’s not really my place to keep bringing them up. One it’s weird because of the work/friend boundary thing. Two I don’t need to be that kind of girl. I need to stop talking about drinking around our male clients. That’s what I really need to do.

Anyway, she went on to repeat something about, “oh you’re going to drink shots of patron, huh?” [which apparently he was saying at the same time I mumbled the tequila comment] And a bunch of teasing him about how she didn’t know and didn’t get the memo. I just laughed and tried to focus on what I was doing, but I couldn’t wipe the smirk off my face and not eavesdrop for the rest of the conversation.

We’ll see how Wednesday goes. I’m a little anxious/nervous/unsure about the whole thing. I’ve always found him attractive, but it’s sorta one of those look-from-afar kind of situations. I don’t know if there would actually be a realistic “thing” between the two of us.

You know that I can’t help but think of all the reality behind everything. I’m not the type to run around and date, or really go into anything without thinking it all the way through. Those may not even be his intentions at all. I think he just likes to give my mom a hard time because he never says any of these things to me. But that’s ok. It’s funny. It gives me a good laugh at least. And I’m flattered. I haven’t had anyone to flirt with in a long time without the weirdness so if that happens, I’m all for it. =]

Ok. That’s all for now. Oh, wait. We bought tickets for Wisconsin! We’re going to fly into Chicago, meet our friends in Wisconsin, and then road trip through several states to hit Mt. Rushmore. [which turns out to be one of Mom’s lifelong dreams. Apparently she and my dad were planning to visit years ago and never made it. So I hope I can get a picture of her in front of it]. Also I finally took the plunge and bought a new dslr camera. After years of research everything just sorta fell into place. I’d had it on my list for weeks, was too busy to get to it, and decided I’d run outta time. Then we were invited to join amazon’s business acct which comes with two day shipping. It should arrive tomorrow. Perfect timing for the trip.

Things are looking really good for me right now. God and the universe have been placing things into my life so perfectly that it’s almost making me feel like something crazy is happening. But it’s just part of life’s blessings. I don’t know why I have to be reminded so often, but life is so good to me. I need to remember that every single day.

rose.
9:07pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.