Septo-rhinoplasty recovery in Grey skies

  • July 24, 2016, 11:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today is ten days since I had septo-rhinoplasty surgery. I broke my nose a few years ago, the fracture created breathing problem. My septum was also very deviated. To fix it they broke my nose again, straightened my septum, added some cartilage from one part of my nose to another where the cartilage was weak and reduced the size of my one of my turbines since it was bigger than the other. To do this they cut an incision under the tip of my nose. For a week after I wore a cast and had splints stitched in my nose. Going back to work has been really hard. I went back a week after surgery and started work on Wednesday. Luckily I had the weekend off. Over the past few days, I’ve been shivering, cold sweating, nauseous, had stomach cramps, having bad pain in my nose and been incredibly fatigued. It’s stressing me out because I feel like I have a lot to do and I am not getting anything done. I realized after thinking about it for a while, that these symptoms could be withdrawal from the Vicodin I took for surgery but I am not sure. I am also worried the scab from where one of my stitches was for the stints is infected. It’s very sore and red. However, I am not sure if it’s just a lot more sore because I stopped taking Vicodin a couple days ago. I took it every four hours after surgery day and night. Then starting Wednesday I only took one a day until the weekend. Anyway, I am going to call the doctor tomorrow to see what he recommends. I am just not sure what to do, there isn’t really a lot of helpful information about this on the internet. In the meantime, I took a couple Naxproxen, some leftover Zofran, peptobismol and acetaminophen (not all at the same time) and I am okay. And I drank a lot of Powerade. I can still feel an aching in my nose and a stronger pain near the scab but it’s not bad enough to keep me awake. Here’s to hoping better days ahead.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.