Shopping and positive energy in Book of summer

  • July 24, 2016, 8:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Jonny and I had a good time shopping. Well I did anyway. Jonny finds shopping for clothes difficult and gets stressed. But sometimes, needs must.
He was looking for jeans, tshirts and new swim shorts. We went into the Fairhill Shopping Centre.
The first ten years of us living in Northern Ireland we used to have a market stall, selling sweets. Then the land where the market had been for years,since the olden days, was cleared and the shopping centre built.
I had to collect the long dress that Monsoon had in my size. I saw another one and decided to try them both on. The reserved one looked good on. It had Egyptian style neckline and braiding and splashes of colour but when I got it on, the underarm zip pulled apart midway. It wasn’t under great pressure, but the invisible zip didn’t sit well over the heavy braiding under the bust and although I have lost weight I still need the same bra size. I tried the other one on. I hadn’t even looked at the price. It looked so pretty. Floor length, soft white with a watercolour design of pink and purple irises with lace inserts in the skirt panels and around the waist.
 photo 691C6271-B96C-424D-AA64-038F14C44340_zpsu02rptjw.png
It is an ideal dress for the cruise. (Norwegian Fjords and Orkney Isles on 29th August) So even though it was £59 reduced from £109 I love it so I bought it instead of the one that was £35. Looking at the other one, (online)I still like it but the zip problem put me off and I don’t need two. It is not the type of dress I could wear very often, unless I go on more cruises. The suggested Canaries and Madeira cruise, 18 days over Christmas and New Year would be good but it falls in the month that Jonny would be off and it seems silly to go away on his ship when he is home. He said he could possibly defer his holiday again,like this time for his friend’s wedding, or take it two weeks early and start back on that cruise on 18th December 2016. He would really love to be on that cruise to Madeira and see the new year firework display again. (He worked a few seasons there with Thomsons) but we need to see how we like this cruise first.
I also bought a pair of black silky trousers which are very slimming and give endless possibilities with the tops I have. I tried them on when I got home last night and found they make the short dress I have (black clingy with a red floral chiffon overlay) much more wearable.i love the dress but it is too short, although now I have gone down a dress size it is looser and looks better. But I love the look with the trousers and heels.
There are so many lovely clothes around these days and good to have prices reduced. I could have bought more but I don’t need them, or have room in my wardrobe or suitcase for them.
I wore the £2.50 Phase Eight/charity shop dress yesterday. I found, with the wrap around style I had to wear a vest top underneath and I had a pale blue one which brought out the colour in the flowers. It was so comfortable and flippy. I love it. It was good for shopping and going out later, teamed with my pale blue freshwater pearl necklace, black sandals and black leather handbag.
Jonny eventually found stuff he wanted at the outlet centre, which has so many closed down units. We went for coffee and then went to the airport for his flight.
It was 6ish when I got to Roberts. I had texted him to tell him it would be that time but he had already eaten,thinking I would have eaten with Jonny. I didn’t eat with Jonny because I thought Robert would want to go out, at our usual time. So just a little mix up but we went and got me a curry and we stayed in.
We talked and I think I have a bit of an idea why I felt things were different with us. He seems awfully concerned about Peter. He likes the sound of him, that he is basically a good man who deserves more out of life than pain and a wife that he still loves(me) going out with another man and going away on holidays. Robert loves me too and said he wants to continue seeing me and that I am a really good person who wouldn’t hurt anybody, I am, if anything, too soft. He wouldn’t want to hurt me either. So I think he is feeling guilty of us having good times together and Peter, although it is partly his own fault, isn’t. I feel that I shouldn’t talk about Peter to him, but he always asks and encourages me to talk. I said that to him but he said I need to talk about it.
After all that, there was no mention of me staying the night, as I had thought was possible, with nobody else at home and no explanations needed. I drove home, listening to Audible. He said he would come over today.
It was late by the time I had tried on my clothes but I was still awake early.
I am so rarely in the house by myself, as Peter hardly ever goes out. It has a different feeling about it. Quiet and more relaxed. Peter fills the house with his tension even when he is fast asleep in his room. Now he is not here, I feel the positive energy flowing through.


Last updated July 24, 2016


Deleted user July 24, 2016

I know what that tension feels like :-(
Pretty dress !

TruNorth July 24, 2016

The dress is lovely. Can't imagine how difficult it must be to juggle a frail husband and a boyfriend simultaneously.

elaine2 July 24, 2016

Oh that dress is gorgeous!!!

New moon girl July 28, 2016

The dress is gorgeous, really pretty. I have a lovely long dress, I got it from TU at Sainsburys a good few years ago in the sale, but have hardly ever worn it because a) it's never warm enough in the evening and b) I never go anywhere where it would be suitable!

Always Laughing July 30, 2016

love the dress

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.