23 in Summer 2016

  • July 23, 2016, 3:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today’s prompt:

For a large number of folks, the change of the millennium was their first major memory. Where were you, and what were you doing?

On the air with 790 WNIS.

I was on the air with CBS Radio on a phone coupler. We were worried that all the satellites were going to not work. Somehow, we were more confident that the aging PSTN infrastructure would stay up.

There’d been some legacy IT and communications systems that didn’t survive. The year or so before, we replaced a lot of stuff.

Yes, I’d taken out cash. I had probably about $500 between my wallet and my apartment. Since I was only making about eight bucks an hour, that was a lot of money for me.

I wasn’t worried about thing in my WWI-vintage apartment working (radiator heat, gas stove, etc.)

I had candles, water, food, coffee, tobacco, etc.. Whatever I might be able to trade if there was an issue.

At the same time, I wasn’t terribly worried, either. I was a lot healthier back then, and whatever was going to happen, I’d survive.

It turned out to be not much of a thing. I am more concerned about the Y2038 problem.

So, what else is up....

Not a lot. It’s ungodly hot again.

So, something for tomorrow. I could write about politics, I suppose. Virginia is big news with Tim Kaine as the Democrats’ VP pick. I’ve met Mr. Kaine, personally. It was probably 1999 at William and Mary.

At the time, I was impressed with him, personally. His tenure as Governor completely ruined my impression. In the Senate, I’d been impressed. Then it comes out that he accepted as much money as Bob McDonnell.

Somehow appropriate that Hillary would select someone with ethics as questionable as hers.

I don’t care much for Trump, either. I’ll use my five-point threshold; if the polls in the week leading up to the election show Virginia is within five points, I’ll go out to vote against Hillary and Timmy. Otherwise, I’ll do something I haven’t done since 2000, and vote for the Libertarian nominee. Who will you vote for in November, and why?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.