Pancho's Cantina in Talk Story

  • July 17, 2016, 1:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

After the kite festival yesterday… a group of us met for snacks and margaritas at Pancho’s Cantina (as we have been known to do from time to time)…

We found a table out on the patio… and soon we were drinking margaritas…

My table-mate… is a former neighbor of mine… 101 years young… and an absolute delight to spend time with…

As the afternoon wore on… the number of guests on the patio increased… until it was completely full…

And from time to time… people started drifting by our table… to talk with my friend…

Some knew her… most didn’t… but it was cute seeing her interaction with each of them…

After we left and got her back to her senior assisted living place… I got out and walked her to the entrance way door… but before I could open it she said: “Here Jim, let me get that for you”…

As I have said so many times… it has been a blessing the wonderful people that continue to enter into my life…

Aloha oe…


ConnieK July 17, 2016

I'm sure she enjoyed every moment. :)

Maui Jim ConnieK ⋅ July 17, 2016

Yes... I'm sure as well... to escape from the senior assistant living facility... to get out and about with young friends... surely kept a smile on her face... or perhaps it was just the margaritas... (smiles)

🌻StillJustMe🌸 July 17, 2016

Wow! 101 and still able to handle margaritas! I wanna be like that when I grow up!!! Lol.

Maui Jim 🌻StillJustMe🌸 ⋅ July 17, 2016

She is an absolute "pistol"...! (smiles)

Deleted user July 17, 2016

What a lovely day! :)

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 17, 2016

It truly was...! (smiles)

middle age pearl July 17, 2016

Oh my gosh, I love “Here Jim, let me get that for you”… Not many around like this jewel!!

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ July 17, 2016

Yes... sort of took me by surprise...! (smiles)

dream seeker July 17, 2016

Oh wow! She sounds like someone who would be a blast to hang around and listen to her stories. Can you imagine? I always use Gram as an example for my kids, and she would have been 101 this year. She was born in a time when her family traveled on horseback and by the time she passed away, humans were living in space.

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ July 18, 2016

Yes... I think a lot of us "forget" the past times...

Deleted user July 18, 2016

How inspiring!

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 18, 2016

What... drinking margaritas...? (smiles)

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ July 18, 2016

Well now that you mention it. Smiles

TruNorth July 18, 2016

You've got quite the motley crew hanging out with you. How did you get introduced to the centenarian?

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ July 18, 2016

She was a former neighbor of mine... and I would see her and chat with her when she lived close to my house...

Deleted user July 20, 2016

Hi Jim. Hoping you can answer this question. While on the Road to Hana excursion, we stopped at a black sand beach. I believe the beach was located near the Pools of Ohe'o. I'm trying my best to figure all of this out. To remember where we went and what we saw. So, do you know of a black sand beach in that vicinity? Thanks so much! I know if anyone can help me it will be you. :)

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 21, 2016

Pa'iloa Beach
The most immediately noticeable feature to the 120-acres that make up Wai'anapanapa State Park is the black sand beach named Pa'iloa. The translation for Wai'anapanapa is "glistening water" or "water flashing rainbow hues", both of which are accurate in describing the powerful contrast between the black, pebble lava field and the deep blue-greens of the ocean.

The Beach is small with a ocean cave on the east side that can be traveled through to the ocean. There's also a naturally made lava arch in the water.

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ July 21, 2016

Jim, are the Pools of Ohe'o also located at Wai'anapanapa State Beach? The black sand beach was small you are absolutely correct. And you are also right when you say the contrast between the black pebble lava field and the deep blue-greens of the ocean was striking.

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 21, 2016

So, you’ve probably heard this place referred to by many names, and you may be asking: “Which is it? ‘Ohe’o Gulch, Haleakala National Park Kipahulu, or Seven Sacred Pools?” The proper name of this attraction is ‘Ohe’o (Oh-Hey-Oh). “Seven Sacred Pools” is a name coined decades ago by the owner of what is now Travaasa Hana (previously Hotel Hana Maui) for the purpose of marketing this deservingly spectacular (but then unknown) remote location to tourists. Since this is part of the Haleakala National Park, the NPS has also added their own name to the mix “Haleakala National Park, Kipahulu.”

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ July 21, 2016

Are Haleakala Park and Wai'anapanapa Park one in the same? I know these pools were by the black sand beach. I am positive of this. Do you think they were the seven sacred pools? I didn't walk down to them - started to but stopped.

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 21, 2016

Nope...!

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ July 21, 2016

Well I'm now positive of the black sand beach name and location. Thanks so much Jim! Now I have to figure out the name of those pools that were next to the beach. Once again, the black sand beach is located at Wai'anapanapa Park, right? And the name of the black sand beach is Pa'iloa Beach, right? Do you know of any pools right next to the beach?

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 21, 2016

As you drove out to Hana... you went past the black sand beach... after Hana you would come to O'heo gulch (the pools)... quite a distance from one another...

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ July 21, 2016

Nope, the beach and pools were in the same location, right next to each other. And we did not go past Hana so that means we didn't see the O'heo pools (Seven Sacred). This is a mystery to me. I am absolutely positive that the pools were right by the beach. Kelly took a picture of the board which gave the name of the pools but I have yet to receive her photo. This is driving me crazy! Perhaps what I'm thinking was referred to as pool is really just a stream or something? But I distinctly remember the tour guide saying we could either go to the black sand beach or walk down to the pools - both in the same location.

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ July 21, 2016

Jim, I'm almost positive that the beach we saw was as you say. Right in the same area was a trail to take down to some pools. Do you know what the name of those pools could be? I thought they were named Oheo Gulch but Oheo Gulch is at Haleakala Park not Wai'anapanapa State Park. It's so hard to figure this stuff out because I didn't inquire at the time we were there.

crystal butterfly July 20, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.