Thor's Day w/TMI in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • July 14, 2016, 4:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Slept in a bit today. Largely because the bedroom was so hot. Gotta appreciate some work being done on the AC, though.

Then I went to the Chiro which wasn’t much of anything.

Then… work. First 30 minutes, my fingers were ablaze on the keyboard working on Reports and filings. Then my stomach hit me with something… intense. A much needed bathroom break. Oh, I don’t know if I’ve mentioned before… but the bathroom in the office building doesn’t lock. Grumble.

After that uncomfortable experience; I discover that an already empty office is more empty. None of the DHS workers that dot the hallways sporadically were going to be in today.

Back at my desk, I look over what I need to do. It is a lot. I stretch my arms, crack some fingers, and get to work. With a silent prayer that I don’t fuck anything up too badly today.
alt text
The next entire hour of work was phone calls. Not even me to my investigators but other attorneys and their clients calling me. Bah.

The rest of the day was a struggled mix between working my ass off and being really tired.
alt text
alt text
alt text

And even though I know I have Friday as a good work day, too… I’d really like to get LARGE chunks of work done. LARGE chunks. It would be wonderful if I could feel caught up. Y’see… as my Boss looks at a trial (or really, having something to do) as overwhelming and problematic… for me, it is exactly the kind of fire I need. If you hand me three things to do and say they are due in 2017.... I may never get to them. You hand me 3 things to do and say one is due tomorrow… all 3 will likely get done.

That being said… the morning portion of the day: Lots of work, lots of focus… (praying that the work was done right!) and I had this song stuck in my head all morning:

ADD THIS for positive… the Jury Trial I needed to super shift gears for? Defense counsel can’t make it… it is getting pushed back (date wise). HOO. RAY. Honestly good news. Granted… I’m still going to work my ass off for the next several weeks in an effort to get a concrete grip on this job… but now I don’t have that issue dragging me down. Now I can just… try desperately to finish all of my July Work before July is finished!

So, ultimately… today:
(1) Order of Dismissal
(2) Order of Judgment
(3) Re-File on an Order for Arraignment
(4) Errand to the Courthouse
(5) Too Many Phone Calls
(6) Additional Witnesses/Testimony Inclusion
(7) Completed Discovery Demand
(8) Finished a very involved and confusing judgment order
(9) Errand to the Post Office
.... by this point, I had already done more work than I’d done since getting the job… and my brain was thinking “Take a Break” but instead of a break, I cleaned up some of the loose papers on my desk, got a water, and came right back at it....
(10) Reviewed detailed medical and psychological report on Juvenile Delinquency Case
(11) Filed a motion to cancel an arrest warrant and reschedule a hearing (because of a mistake I’d made a few months ago on the case when I tried to file)
(12) Last Hour: Interviews w/ Sexual Assault Victims.

When reviewing the psychological report… I found a few things disturbing. (1) The individual analyzing the child continued to say things like “Patient’s narrative contradicts Parent’s narrative.” and yet the individual took the child at his word every time. It doesn’t make sense if the parents are saying “He is violent and the family is afraid of him”… and he says, “I love my family, I would never hurt them”. The psych believes the kid? That is how domestic situations get from bad to worse. Though, (2) I don’t have much faith in this individual anyway. I am a bit of a snob but.... in some ways, good. If I am relying on your intelligence to safeguard my community… I get to be a snob. And saying, “Plane clothes white mail” makes me think you are dumb. You are a professional, writing a professional document. That kind of thing is… unacceptable.
................................

Big day tomorrow! But.. I don’t know. If I can keep a kind of momentum going… that will be very worthwhile.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.