Just thinking in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • July 13, 2016, 6:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m noticing fewer and fewer of my favs are writing entries these days. I hope it is because summer is a busy time for them and I will see an update eventually. It is a bit depressing to think they have just quit writing here all together but sometimes life just gets too busy. A lot of folks think the life they live is just too boring to write about, but many of us like and enjoy reading about day to day activities of others. So if you’re a reader and don’t leave comments or write often, this is your prompt. Your life may seem mundane to you, but not to those who aren’t living it. It’s kinda like the expression “someone’s trash is someone else’s treasure”. Never underestimate the life you live.

I have picked and ate one cherry tomato. Didn’t even bring it in the house, just popped in to take a bite and it was ummm so good. Have a few other cherry tomatoes getting ripe too but not any of the rest. Ho Hum. I can see a huge windfall coming.

Soaked some rags in ammonia to prepare to hang on the little fence. It rained yesterday morning and again yesterday evening. It is suppose to rain this morning, so will continue to let the ammonia soaked rags dry until the rains subside.

Yesterday I wasn’t sure it was going to rain, so aimed the sprayer on the row of tomatoes and let the spray run for over an hour. Then the rain came. Then two of the fully loaded with big green tomatoes decided to “lean”. Oh No. I retrieved some wooden tomato stakes and added them to upright the plants and get them secured. I hope it holds for the rest of the growing season. Only one large green tomato escaped from one of the plants, and it is sitting on the porch to hopefully ripen.

Dude is supposed to come and brush hog around the wild blackberries down here although if it rains, probably not. Isaiah had said he was going to spend the night last night but changed his mind and told me yesterday he would stay tonight. Not sure he will even tonight, but whatever he decides to do is ok. Saw pictures of the ggirls at their camp and it looked as if they were having a great time.

School starts the middle of next month. Man, time flies!! Not sure about the date but around the 15th.

Step counter update. Since I wear sandals a lot right now, and no socks, with the advice that I received about wearing the step counter, I made an elastic ankle holder for the step counter. It works wonderfully. Now I’ll be able to get a count with or without socks. With the heat and rain yesterday I only got 4000 steps in but hope to increase that as soon as possible. I feel good about getting started on this and it will keep me from (I hope) from not moving on certain days. Maybe not, but think so.

At 1 this afternoon I will get to see a new nephew. He received a lot of my home made baby stuff and his mom and dad have touched my heart with sending and posting pictures of him and them using the stuff I made. Makes me so happy that they are using the items and like them!!

Things to do this morning before the rain starts.

Take care and God Bless


GypsyWynd July 13, 2016

What do you do with the ammonia rags?
Nothing better than a homegrown tomato!

middle age pearl GypsyWynd ⋅ July 13, 2016

I'm going to hang them on the fence that surrounds the corn and HOPE it keeps the raccoons from eating the sweet corn when it matures.

cardslinger July 13, 2016

I sometimes think my life is too mundane but I write anyway. I like to read everyone's entries. I don't get every single one read but I enjoy what I do read.
My tomato plants have blossoms so I am super excited to get some fresh ones but right now I need to weed around them!
The ankle strap is a great idea!

crystal butterfly July 13, 2016

I've been doing the writing prompts. So I guess I should see what day 7 is. I will be gone Friday and Sat so will NOT write on those days.

middle age pearl crystal butterfly ⋅ July 13, 2016

Where are the writing prompts?

Deleted user July 13, 2016

Guilty as charged. It is selfish of me. I enjoy reading but mostly don't write. Sorry to disappoint you. :-(

middle age pearl Deleted user ⋅ July 14, 2016

You didn't disappoint me I was just worried I was losing connection with some long made friends. Thank you for leaving me a comments as I know you're not gone, but busy. ;)

ConnieK July 15, 2016

I'll write about my trip to the GA mountains soon. Catching up on favs right now. :)

Bird of Paradise August 19, 2016

You made a really good point in your first paragraph.
And I don't write often because well there is a season for all things. My season for hanging at the open diary was maybe the 1st 10 years. Now I can't really get into it. Although I have about 15 drafts I have not posted yet. Also I forget about this place often. I am occupied doing other things. I don't ever want to give up on writing though. And I want to stay connected with my long time readers, always.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.