Last Year..... in Adventures of New baby and family

  • July 11, 2016, 10:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Its coming up to were I went to my first prenatal apt. It was July 15, 2015.....
I wasn’t looking forward to it but decided if things were going to progress I should go. Life was getting a bit better for me as I now was going to be starting a job the following week and going to jet off to Lafayette, LA for a week of training. I would have health insurance and a full time job as a respiratory therapist. Before then I had quit my job as that job to this day still gives me willies. I still think about it and shutter. BAD. I had also gone to appeal process with the labor dept to get unemployment for the 2 months I was looking and nothing..... it was because I quit.

I looked for a OB/GYN that took straight medicaid at the time as that was all I had (remember I had no job and no money coming in). They agreed to take it. Good. There office was about 20 minutes away, whatever. I will deal. Probably not going to them that much as I didn’t think it would last. I was having spotting, cramps and contractions and at times mucous. I had miscarriages before so I figured we were heading that direction but the longer it was going the more I thought I would need some OB services.
So I went to this place. They were wonderful. I did the first part with the nurse. The one were you get done and think…why the F…k are we having a kid? As they ask everybody’s health history and think this kid is going to be a mess. I really didn’t care if they were nice or not. I wanted to know if this thing inside me was viable. After I can’t remember if I met with the doctor first or he did the exam. I think I met with him first as I was still in the meeting room after talking to the nurse. He told me about himself too and that he grew up in the area where I live now and even the street he grew up on. He was very easy to talk to and took the time to get to know his patients. I liked him instantly after that. I got the folder full of information about the practice and pregnancy. I wasn’t keen on the hospital they used as it was far from my family and also the other office was a bit farther too. They did ultrasounds there. I figured I would have to do it about 3 times maybe. (one at 12 weeks, 19 weeks and if they needed another for any other reason possibly??) I had the apts for 12 and 19 weeks already. Even after slightly debating in my head do I want the baby at that hospital, I really liked that OB and I really didn’t want to find another. I was already 9 weeks into this. Not that its impossible as I did move during my first and found one later but I figured it wasn’t going to be much of any apts as it wan’t going to last and if I Iiked the doctor I would stay there for my annual. My mind was a whirlwind of emotions. What stuck with me is after he did the “yearly ” exam part . He smiled and said, “yup there’s definitely something in there. ” I smiled back.... I didn’t really know what to say. Yeah I know its in there too but........oh hell screw it, he will see. All I have to say if this was my first I would have been in the ER about every week. As it was I was in the hospital 2 times and should have been much longer.

This is when I thought....usually I know how its going to turn out and I couldn’t. Is it going to stick or not. I was having trouble giving in to this little guy. I looked into the now my middle son and couldn’t imagine live with out him. I wanted to love him like this but demons were getting in the way. I’m too old, he’s too old. Don’t think anybody is going to take this well when I tell them. sigh....he made us fall in LOVE with him. His little life hung in the balance and it was hard not to when going to ultrasound after ultrasound. Remember me thinking only about 3 times....... NOPE 30 times.......NO lie I had no less than THIRTY ultrasounds. I watched that little guy grow and got to know his personality before he was born. Did I care that I had to visit that office so much. Nope not at all.

As I watch him swim in the water (he loves the water) I think back to when he was in me. He didn’t much kick-unless it was my bladder, but what he did was move. He would be head up and then back down and would do that constantly. It was a running joke with me at the end. In fact the week he was born he was head up Tuesday at the doctor apt according to the doctor. Head down Wednesday according to the ultrasound and head up Thursday when he was born as his little toes came first.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.