First Ultrasound in Inside My Head

  • July 10, 2016, 7:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As expected my first prenatal appointment with the midwife was a complete waste of my time. She didn’t do an ultrasound and her internal exam wasn’t particularly gentle. The only ultrasound appointments she could give me were at random times in the middle of the day, which clearly doesn’t work since I have a full time job. She offered to give me a prescription for an ultrasound and I make my own appointment at a radiology clinic. I lucked out and found a place by my house that gave me an appointment the next day on a Saturday, no less.

I was terrified. I have been cramping but not bleeding. I didn’t bleed with my first miscarriage, so not bleeding doesn’t always mean all is well. The the ultrasound tech placed the probe on my stomach and almost immediately said was ‘Everything looks great!” I started to cry and she gave me a perplexed look. I told her about my first miscarriage and she was super nice the rest of the appointment. Much nicer than the crappy midwife.

The ultrasound picture was so clear! You could clearly see the little peanut! And we got to hear the heartbeat! Mike and Sammy were at the appointment too. Mike took a picture of the ultrasound and Sam smiled and pointed.

So beyond thriled (and a little terrified)…


Flame is Love July 10, 2016

Congrats! I'm 6 weeks pregnant and have my first nurse appointment tomorrow. Hoping for an ultrasound. They have portable ones they can do right there in the room at my doctor. My doctor retired so I'm not sure about my new randomly-assigned midwife.

Always Laughing July 10, 2016

Congrats so glad you found the other place to go to.

Espoir Trouvé July 15, 2016

Congrats! I'm only on week 5 and waiting is so hard. Definitely understand you ordering your bloods yourself!

artists*heart Espoir Trouvé ⋅ July 15, 2016

Congrats to you as well! I'm about 9 weeks. So far blood work and ultrasound look good so I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.