Unexpected Visits in 2016

  • July 9, 2016, 1:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

10:10pm

I think I should go ahead and get some stuff off my mind because I have a feeling that I’ll have some major rambling to do after tomorrow.

I’m finally going to hang out with Yesenia. I don’t know if I mentioned that we tried to get together at the beginning of June? It feels like I haven’t really written at all lately, but I know I have.
Anyway, we were chatting online and some how it came up that we should hang out. This isn’t anything out of the ordinary. We bring it up every now and then, but we’re both very similar people in that we’re shy and not huge extroverts. So it always comes up as one of those things that people say but never follow through on. That day though she seemed really enthusiastic about it. To the point where we immediately narrowed down dates and settled for that first weekend in June.

A couple days later it turned out that my brother was having surgery the following week. I was going to keep the date but the more I thought about it the more I realized that we actually needed to leave on Saturday in order for my brother to spend more time with Mom. So I cancelled on her and she didn’t really react. I sorta thought she was upset about it. Honestly, I’d be a little annoyed even though I did explain the whole situation.

So now that I’m back in town I got back in touch with her a few days ago to tell her I’d survived the humidity. We chatted a bit and caught up then I brought up the fact that I thought we should try to set another day. I know she’s super busy. She’s getting married in two months. I wasn’t sure she’d want to do anything now but she said she was free every weekend and asked what I was doing this weekend. We agreed on Saturday and I’m heading that way tomorrow morning.

It was a quick set up so it seems like she’s really into the idea of hanging out. We’ve only hung out once in the last so many years and that was already a while ago. Like I said, we don’t follow through. It’s cool that we’re doing this though. I’m slightly nervous about the socializing thing, but I pretty much always am. Even though I know it’ll turn out just fine. We’re good at picking up where we left off. Plus I’m guessing that her desire to get together and have a catch up session is partly motivated by the upcoming wedding. It doesn’t seem like she has a lot of girlfriends to talk to and I know I’d want to dish about it with someone. We’ll see how it goes. That’s probably what I’ll be around gabbing about tomorrow or the day after.

In other news: Melissa and the boys are in town! :-) We knew they were coming soon but didn’t know when. Mom mentioned something last night about keeping an eye out for them. Then today she got a call from Melissa that they were in town. Got in yesterday. ha. Mom must be psychic because we had no idea what day! She wanted to hang out and say hi but we were out shopping [spending too much money at Lowes. ha.] We called when we got back in town but they were busy and said she’d be back shortly. We waited but it took freaken forever. Turns out they ended up running a bunch of errands and stuff, but we were waiting to eat dinner so that kind of sucked. Oh well.

She showed up not long after their car pulled into the drive. Just her because the boys needed showers and were starving, which was fine. It was super great catching up with her! She gave me a big long hug when she walked in and we hung out in the courtyard until it got too cold. Then we came inside and grabbed some wine and talked some more.

She caught us up on pretty much everything. New houses, and property, and what life is like in MT. All the stuff. Life and all the little things. =)

But we all know that’s not why I’m really here. I mean I wouldn’t just come on here to give a spiel on her and the boys so here goes:
We were talking about our work situation and the new guy who we’ve been working with in regards to the new lease. Mom, in her typical fashion, ends up saying that he’s a young guy and she’s going to ask if he’s single. To which I rolled my eyes, because come on. This is a reoccurring theme with her these days. Melissa started laughing and I said, “so when can I go to MT? Because I don’t want to be around for this.” She laughed and without missing a beat said, “CK’s living in Alaska now!” .... Uh, what?

Where did that even come from? Like no one had even mentioned him. Not once. There were no hints, or anything, and she just blurted that out like it was a thing.

Lady, you realize he hasn’t spoken to me in over a year right? Because that seems like an important factor in this.

I just laughed and we [mostly Mom] started talking about how we’d run into him on the street. We went over that and Mel said that he was probably in town for the fair kickoff dinner. Apparently he’d texted her during that dinner and commented on how many people there were. He’s not very social. She also started making excuses for him when Mom said he hadn’t come to visit. She said that he was in town a while, a project he was working on took longer than expected, but that he’d only visited one family [and only twice!] and spent all the rest of the time on the project.

Hmm…I guess that means he didn’t even have time to shoot me a text right? To say that he was alive and safe. That he saw me and we should get together for a quick drink.

Perhaps that was too much to ask for. Which is why it was so weird and random that she would bring him up like that. Especially in the way that made it seem like, “hey, he’s available. you should go for him if you’re looking to get away.” And later she decided that I should be friends with him on facebook. ?? I think that was in regards to the not seeing him thing. But it was random. Everything was so out of nowhere! I just said that I would probably have to spend more time on fb and then changed the subject to why her and I weren’t friends on there. ha. I’m good at swinging the conversation when I need to. =)

I couldn’t even make eye contact with her when she said those things though. Like what was she even talking about? What does she know? I always wondered what it was that he told her about us, if anything. But that was back when we were texting and seeing each other all the time. Now it just seems so out of place. Never in a million years would I have expected her to bring him up.

I guess now I don’t have to wonder if he’s going to show up this week though. It’s been sorta hard not to think about since I found out they were coming. I refused to let it come up in my mind though. There’s no point in thinking about that stuff anymore. If he shows up, he shows. But we all know he won’t. ;) heh.

I don’t want to fall back into this. It was so long. So much time. And I don’t know what she’s thinking bringing him up like that, but he’s clearly not feeling the same way. It’s just hard to wrap my mind around. I don’t want to spend too much time thinking about it, but you know that I’m no good at that. I over-analyze and want to know everything she knows.

But why? Why would she even mention him like that? What was the point? What did I ever do to the world that it felt the need to bring this all back up for me again? Honestly, I think it hurts more to know all of this. That he was here for so long. That he’s gone now. That he’s living the dream I wanted to live.

It would have been better, easier, if his name had never come up.
I’m not sure I’ve ever tried so hard and failed so miserably at anything else in life.

And I have to get up early.

rose.
11:29pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.