The year... in Secrets from myself

  • Jan. 5, 2014, 7:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A hundred years ago my mother was seven months old. My dad was six and a half years old. Ever since we passed their hundred year birthdays, I feel a little different about time. Events a hundred years ago do not seem so remote. There is a WWI helmet hanging in my cellarway. It came with the farm when my dad and his brother bought it from their cousins in 1950. The cousins had brothers who were in WWI. Three of my dad's brothers served overseas in WWII. My brother was in Vietnam twenty some years later. My kids were not interested in the military and their wars were voluntary. War is different when it's voluntary. It's possible to opt out. WWs I and II, Korea and Vietnam to a great extent were not optional. They affected us all.

One day last week I heard on the radio at work that a branch of the Iowa National Guard is being sent to Afghanistan. I also heard that Senator John McCain has said that we are going to be smarter about Afghanistan than we were about Iraq where according to McCain we won the war but lost the peace. These are the wars that have been easier to ignore because they did not affect us all. They have become the country's longest wars because there is no need to end them.

I am not a historian. I am not a student of current events. I sit here in the kitchen and wonder where my life went. And I ask the same question about the lives of others. We have a brief time here on earth. We come as babes and we leave as wrinkled hags. Some of us do anyway. Others die in their primes of life. They do not live to have grandchildren. They do not collect their pensions. They have tombstones in the cemetery that no one visits.

And our dogs lead even shorter lives.

 photo DSC08281.jpg

And most don't get tombstones.


M January 05, 2014

Praise the lard.

*Sharla January 05, 2014

Very profound entry. Funny Sir and I were just having coffee this morning and chit chatting about this very same subject. Life goes by so fast. We are life chaff in the wind, like a blade of grass. Here but just a very short while. 100 years ago my Great Grandparents were teenagers. Yep was just talking about that. Enjoy your day.. each and every moment of it:)

NorthernSeeker January 05, 2014

Love the photo of Gracie...is that a tape recorder, calling her name? Whatever it is, her laser gaze is going to melt it.

skyy January 09, 2014

i read something that said dogs get to go earlier, because they have nothing left (to work on)

BentnotBroken January 29, 2014

Hello. I am here. I needed a dose of your common sense. :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.