Happy Fourth of July! in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • July 4, 2016, 6:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Raining still here this morning and pretty heavy. Flash flooding is current, but we are safe down here, just a bit soggy. It is suppose to stop raining sometime today and be rain free by this evening. Lots of kids hope so as the fireworks don’t do very good in rain.

I went to SS and church yesterday morning and other than that, not much else. Did wash up some dishes and fixed BBQ pork steak for supper, but pretty much enjoyed a lazy and quiet day. I didn’t even do any laundry which is pretty amazing, but with it raining all day, I couldn’t hang anything out, so I just didn’t do any. I will do some laundry today, whether I can hang it or not, and at this time, since it is raining, well it’s a no brainer that I’ll use the dryer.

I did pick the one zucchini that was big enough to pick and baked it in the oven for supper last night. Goodness it or the BBQ gave me some serious gas which in turn gave me some serious pain, but with the knowledge it isn’t going to kill me, I didn’t panic and it didn’t last long per spell.

I think some of the tomatoes are beginning to turn. The rain we’re getting will either help or drown them and it could be a close call. The 2d tub of green beans are officially blooming and every tomato plant is heavy with green tomatoes. I may end up canning this summer after all. If the green peppers keep doing good I’ll be able to make spaghetti sauce too.

I haven’t touched the baby quilt top even though I thought I’d at least get it sandwiched and ready to start quilting. Didn’t happen. Hopefully this week I’ll get it done. J is off this week and I take Dad to his VA appointment on Wednesday, but sometimes I get the “bug” and get going to finish things.

This is such a disjointed entry entry this morning, but for some reason, that is kinda how I feel. I think I’ll get settled when I get my shower and get dressed. All the rain is beginning to water log my brain I think. It was very needed but I’m getting tired of it now. It needs to save some for later rain in a few days or couple of weeks.

I’m still crocheting. Not reading much. On Saturdays all the girls to include sister, each took a scrubbie and a dish/wash cloth home with them. They were excited about these creations. A loved the scrubbie I gave her a couple of weeks ago and wants a bigger one, so I’ve got a bigger one done. I need to pick up some more scrubbie yarn now.

AND I need a good flashlight. Since I have a critter getting into my trash, I intend to “meet” the trash man in the morning with the trash, but I need a good flashlight. I have flashlights, however, they are the cheap kind and are almost worthless for outside dark. Inside dark, they are fine. The plan for today is, that sister and I will take our boys and purchase some fireworks for tonight and that is when I plan to get the flashlight. If not, I’ll back the Tahoe out of the garage and use the headlights until I get a good light. I also plan to douse the concrete that the barrels sit on, with ammonia, but it would be a waste of time and ammonia to do it while it’s raining like cats and dogs.

Ok. Enough writing. Going to get the shower done and dress and then hopefully get back here to get caught up with all of you. I am behind and I think everyone decides to write and post at the same time. lol

Take care, God Bless, and Have a very safe and Happy Independence Day!!!!!


Last updated July 04, 2016


ConnieK July 04, 2016

Hope the ammonia helps. Stay dry and enjoy all that delicious produce!

crystal butterfly July 05, 2016

We have a coon that likes to eat the leftover oriole jelly at night. right now some sparrows are eating it. Hope you can stop the critter getting into your trash.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.