Water in Talk Story

  • July 1, 2016, 6:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Another “Aloha Friday”…

I spent part of this morning getting ready for tomorrow’s barbecue/potluck… got everything done that needed getting done… (smiles)

We haven’t had much in the way of rain for quite some time… and the weather has been warm (and dry)… so this evening I went outside and watered my plants…

Most of you know that my house sits within 30 feet of Harris beach state park… so I have lots of trees in my back yard…
But I also have lot’s of ferns… different varieties of them… and this time of year the fronds have unfurled… and they look wonderful…

In addition to my collection of succulents… I have quite a few plants and trees in containers… and they need to be watered more often…

The dry stream bed that I designed goes through the back yard and empties into the forest… and all of the plants that I put in along the banks… are now fully mature making the area look like it has always been there…

So imagine for a moment if you will… the sun has gone done… but it is still light outside… starting to cool off… and I wander the property with a garden hose…

I take my time… enjoying the results of my labor (play) over the past ten years that I have been here…

I change the water in the myriad of bird baths in the back yard… don’t want to attract mosquitoes…

Most likely I overdo it… but my enjoyment factor is now at the top…

There is water everywhere… even quite a bit on me… which is okay because it is still warm outside…

I wish for you… a fun filled and safe 4th of July weekend…

Aloha oe…


ODSago July 01, 2016

I can't believe it has been 11 years since your daughter died. I will think of you and of her tomorrow also.

Your yard sounds lovely...I felt I was there as you described it. I know it can be healing to walk alongside the ferns and the bird baths alongside the dry stream bed. I trust it is healing for you.

Maui Jim July 01, 2016

Mahalo nui loa for your kind words to me... yes... it is healing...
Of course I still miss her... but the pain is different these days...
Again... thank you............

Chic Chat July 02, 2016

I can only imagine how beautiful of a sight that is.

Have a wonderful time tomorrow.

Maui Jim Chic Chat ⋅ July 02, 2016

Thank you...

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm July 02, 2016

I enjoy going out and watering my gardens. it's peaceful out in the yard, talking with my plants. I think they grow better if I talk to them. I love ferns. so many different kinds. the way you talk about your garden, it sounds beautiful. take care,

Maui Jim Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ July 02, 2016

This note to me "echo's" my thoughts exactly... (smiles)

aunty EM July 02, 2016

Enjoy!!!

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ July 02, 2016

Thank you...

Deleted user July 02, 2016

Sad to say I will just have to eat some of my delicious home-made potato salad for you at our little gathering on the 4th. Enjoy your party. :-)

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 02, 2016

You're sad... just imagine how I must feel... knowing that you're eating it... (smiles)

Spilledperfume July 02, 2016

I remember reading about the rock stream you put in several years ago. It was when I first started reading you on OD.

Maui Jim Spilledperfume ⋅ July 02, 2016

Smiles..............

dream seeker July 03, 2016

Your yard sounds beautiful. I would imagine it's the perfect place to relax in.

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ July 03, 2016

Tis...! (smiles)

middle age pearl July 04, 2016

This made e smile.

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ July 04, 2016

Oh good...!

Deleted user July 04, 2016

Tell me Jim, what is a dry stream bed? Does it have water in it that empties into the forest? I thought a dry stream bed would be ...... well, dry. Please do tell.

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 04, 2016

It's dry...
Only wet when it rains...
Smiles................

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ July 04, 2016

Blushing. Well yes, I guess that's why your dry stream bed is wet sometimes. LOL!

TruNorth July 04, 2016

Is the dry stream bed lined with something so you can see its path (like stones?) Not sure what a dry stream bed looks like.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ July 04, 2016

The dry stream bed is about 3-4 feet wide... lined with river rock (rocks that are 2 inches in diameter... up to 8 inches in diameter)...
It meanders from the front of my property... along side my house... all the way to the back and made to look like it empties into the state park...
It only has water in it... when it rains... (smiles)

Deleted user July 07, 2016

Sounds like Heaven !

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 09, 2016

There are times... in the late afternoon/early evening... when I look out on the forest... that I am at such peace...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.