Bee Sting in Talk Story

  • June 28, 2016, 10:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…
While working out in my front yard…I reached for a plant that I wanted to remove… and felt a sharp sting to the palm of my hand…
Thinking it was a spine off the plant… I looked at my hand… and a bumble bee flew away…
I looked for the entry wound… easy to find… but no sign of a stinger in my hand…
I put ice on it… and within an hour… I was pretty much pain free… though my hand is a bit swollen…
I haven’t received a bee sting in over 15 years… forgot just how painful they can be…
That little shit…!
Aloha oe................


nothispenelope June 28, 2016

i haven't been stung in a long time either.

Maui Jim nothispenelope ⋅ June 28, 2016

Well let's hope that we both don't have to suffer that indignity ever again... oh yeah...also the pain as well... (smiles)

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 28, 2016

It's been over 8 years since I've been stung.. they hurt.. take care,

Maui Jim Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 28, 2016

As I said to a previous noter...Well let's hope that we both don't have to suffer that indignity ever again... oh yeah...also the pain as well... (smiles)

dream seeker June 28, 2016

I don't do well with stings. I am a bit allergic. The last one was a few years ago, while mowing, and really bad. Keep an eye on it and hopefully you won't meet another one that way ever again.

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ June 28, 2016

Yes... sitting here being hopeful...! (smiles)

middle age pearl June 29, 2016

Ouch! Hope it is all better and not swollen or provides pain!

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ June 29, 2016

Still a bit swollen... no more pain... as I put ice on it right away... (smiles)

ConnieK June 29, 2016

That's what happens when you start to evict... :)

Maui Jim ConnieK ⋅ June 29, 2016

Yeah... you're right (again)... (smiles)

Deleted user June 29, 2016

I am allergic :-( I would love to keep bees but it's too big a risk. I keep an epi pen in the kitchen at all times . Just in case . Bee venom could kill me but I am not allergic to wasps . Go figure ...

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 29, 2016

I think that wasps bite... and don't inject venom... but I'm not sure...

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ June 29, 2016

The inject . Wasps can sting you multiple times and they do not die. They are evil little insects !

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 29, 2016

Well... whatever... I don't like them... and I don't think that they serve any beneficial purpose.. (splat)

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ June 29, 2016

They are pollenators, which since such a huge demise of the bees makes them valuable but they are dangerous, I think . Bees will sting in defense. Wasps attack without provocation or so it seems to me .

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 29, 2016

Okay... despite the bumble bee being the culprit... I will limit my splatting to the wasps... (smiles)

Deleted user June 29, 2016

Next time gloves perhaps? :-)

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ June 29, 2016

Absolutely... where was this suggestion eight hours ago...? (smiles)

aunty EM June 29, 2016

Sorry, Jim.

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ June 29, 2016

Doing just fine this morning...! (smiles)

🌻StillJustMe🌸 June 29, 2016

Ouch!
Hope its all better today

Maui Jim 🌻StillJustMe🌸 ⋅ June 29, 2016

Yes... back to normal... no swelling... no pain... but most likely I'll be wary of the bees in my front yard... (smiles)

crystal butterfly July 03, 2016

It is the wasps that get me. Hope it is not swollen anymore.

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ July 03, 2016

I put ice on my hand... the pain went away after about 30 minutes... and the swelling was gone when I woke up the next morning...

Deleted user July 04, 2016

I haven't been stung by a bee in many, many years. Ouch for you to have been stung! I'm glad you didn't have a serious reaction and that you are fine now. Here's hoping you never get stung by a bee again.

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ July 04, 2016

Amen...!

Deleted user Maui Jim ⋅ July 04, 2016

Oh, and I can't believe you said the word shit. I do believe that's the first time I've ever seen you use a curse word in one of your entries. LOL!

TruNorth July 04, 2016

I stepped on a bee when I was little - hurt like hell!

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ July 04, 2016

Auwe... it must have... if you still remember the pain...!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.