Humiliation... in blackpropaganda

  • June 28, 2016, 10:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

No, not one of my kinks - I can get enough of that at home!!!
As my regular readers (Carrie and Ben Dover) will know I have a continuing dislike (I was going to say hatred - but that would not be true) of the England soccer and rugby teams. Actually it is more about the way that the media and supporters believe England have a God-given right to win everything - since they are always better than Johnny Foreigner.
I am English - but appalled by the antics of some soccer supporters - but mainly tv pundits and commentators who are continually biassed - even when the teams are crap. In newspapers you can get three pages on England - and next to nothing on other UK national teams.
Well.... they have their come-uppance. If you did not know (or care) - England - mighty England - with the ‘finest football league in the world’ lost to Iceland - a country with a proud history of fighting against the odds - by 2 goals to 1 - indeed it was humiliating - not just losing but the nature of the loss. The Icelanders played as a team with a clear plan - England played as if they had no idea what to do. These were professional footballers in the Premier League earning 5 and 6 figure sums PER WEEK.
I loved it!!!! The thing is - the reactions have all been about England with little recognition of the superiority of Iceland in all departments - and forgetting they beat the Netherlands, home and away, when qualifying. They were intelligent, well coached, and enthusiastic.
Actually I was pleased the English rugby team whitewashed Australia - but then I hate the Australian sense of destiny too!.
As for life in the UK - leaderless, no idea what to do, pound falling, the opposition in turmoil - and Jeremy *unt, the Health Secretary responsible for the crises in the NHS, suggesting he might stand for leadership of the Tory Party.
You could not make it up!!!!
Talk about enjoying being shafted!!!!!!
OK - let’s enjoy this

alt text


Last updated June 28, 2016


Gilraent June 28, 2016

I don't follow rugby (or anything else, really) but I did see that England lost to Iceland, and that's all I know about that.
lol at the comic, as usual :) good to start the day with a giggle.

colojojo July 01, 2016

Isn't it natural for a country to be all for their country's team? I mean I know that the UK consists of 4 countries, basically, but I'm sure the news is mostly owned by English companies. Also, if most fans are English fans, will they not try to write news to cater to them?

blackpropaganda colojojo ⋅ July 01, 2016

The main population buying national papers is English - and the English are the largest group - which explains why many people (in the US?) refer to the UK or Britain as 'England'. Identity is more complex - especially for those outside England - and also for those of different ethnic backgrounds, but born in the UK. I love the complexity - but others find it very worrying.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.