No more rain so far in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • June 27, 2016, 5:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday afternoon’s downpour and then some rain for another hour or so was it. It was foggy and cloudy this morning and the dampness hung in the air and the temperature started rising. It is only about 90 but feels so much hotter outside. I may mow later this evening but also may not. Parts of the yard do need it, but it is mostly around the tomato patch and the front flower bed. If I wouldn’t use the sprinklers I probably wouldn’t have much to mow and just need to use the weed eater, but I am really appreciated the sprinklers for all the areas that need to be watered when needed. Still no ripe tomatoes. :( I can’t wait!! I do have a couple of zucchini that I’ll be able to pick in a day or two. It will depend on how big I want them to get before I snatch um up and cook them. I’ll cook them in the microwave with a little butter, salt and pepper and it will be fantastic! More corn is developing the tops so I’m hopeful to see ears of corn develop eventually. Everything is doing great except the cucumber plants I changed over from the BBQ grill pot to the big tub. They seem to look a bit more perky today and are full of blooms so again, I’m hopeful. I have dill growing and ready to use for refrigerator pickles, but if I have an abundance of cukes, I’ll make relish. Hope I can find my recipe.

Washed several loads of clothes and dried 2 of the loads in the dryer with the overcast and cloudy skies, but this afternoon I hung out my stuff and pretty sure it is drying just fine. I’ll check them again in an hour or so and bring the in and put them away if they are dry.

Squirrels. Brave creatures they are. And a bit demanding too. Caught one in the bucket next to my front door that has dog food in it. I had thought the beagle was getting snacks out of the bucket which was fine, but I am pretty sure it was the squirrel or squirrels. Caught him red handed and told him to get. He did, but after running a short distance he turned around to give me a look like, go in the house. Now!! I brought the bucket inside and saw him later up on a planter right outside the front window looking for the bucket. lol He wasn’t happy. Had some watermelon that needed to be thrown out, and put it under the tree I see them in a lot. I suspect they like watermelon too.

Emailed dad’s primary care doctor and the office called me at home and we have an appointment for him on the 6th of July. If I didn’t have another Mammo for this Wed I could have taken him then, but I have GOT to get my checked out so I can continue taking care of and seeing about Dad and J. Sometimes I wonder who would see about Dad if I dropped dead. Not expecting to by no means, but neither are my siblings. I’m bettin on that!

Texted both brother and sister and filled them in on the weekend incidents. Sister responded. Brother hasn’t. Sometimes I just want to sit down and have a good cry and scream at them that YES, I’m retired, and YES, I’ll take him to his appointments, but for the love of DAD, could someone check on him besides ME?? Once a week for them, if that, just isn’t cutting it. I KNOW he is a huge downer when your around him. Good grief, he is pretty sure I’m doing to die now that I’ve been having some pain.

Sorry-shouldn’t have gone there. Pity party over.

Going to start some supper. Last night I made Salmon patties. Haven’t made them in many years and will do it again and not wait years. I fixed rice for me and mac n cheese for J. I think the boxes of mac n cheese are getting smaller. lol No. I really do. Fixed some peas to go with and it was a good supper. J wants frozen lasagna tonight and that’s what we’re having so I need to get it to cooking.

Take care and God Bless


ConnieK June 27, 2016

Pity party away, Girl. I'll tell you you are absolutely right on every count. My brothers bailed on me when it came to caring for Mom. I had to BADGER them to visit her and it made me so mad because if it had been up to me, I would have ignored them, too, but Mom was always so hopeful that they'd visit or call.
It's not about YOUR load and I get that. It's about them responding to their father's need.
So, I offer you what the nursing home nurse told me: "When she (he) goes, you won't regret what you did." At the time, I didn't answer but I kept thinking she didn't understand that this wasn't about me.
But she was right. When I said good-bye to Mom, I knew I'd taken care of her the best I knew how and she wasn't mistreated. THAT will bring you peace. They'll have to live with what they didn't do, too, so in a way, I feel sorry for them. They'll regret the selfishness.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 28, 2016

Recipe please. Hate it when family doest step up when elderly parents are involved. Take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 28, 2016

For the Salmon patties I remember my mom using crushed saltines which I did and also added some homemade Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Sauteed onion, a couple of eggs a little pepper and fried in olive oil. You love garlic so you could add garlic too. I'm out of fresh garlic. It was a change and it was good to have something different!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm middle age pearl ⋅ June 28, 2016

Thank you so much! Take care,

crystal butterfly June 28, 2016

Wonder if just a little side comment in a conversation, like you are thinking to yourself, that it is sad that Dad is afraid I'm going to die because I'm the one that checks on him so often. He worries something will happen and no one will know.

Bird of Paradise August 19, 2016

When I was a kid my mom made Salmon Loaf. I haven't had it since. It was yummy though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.