It rained! in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • June 26, 2016, 8:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Seems not long ago I was writing about all the rain. Then it stopped. It got hot but stayed humid. Whew! This afternoon/early evening around 5 or so the clouds that had been coming and going, finally stayed put and the rain poured down. I was cooking supper and longed to go out to watch it rain. It came hard at times and blew sideways at times, but it was really needed. I did get outside not long into the rain and the birds were just chattering away all around here. It was one of those “awe” moments as it sounded like they were rejoicing. Once the downpour had settled in reason rain, I watched the hummer take showers. It was so cute. I’ve seen them do it before, but it never ceases to entertain and amaze me.

Waiting for ANY tomato to get ripe is worse than watching for water to boil. Maybe nature’s watering will get things ripening.

The green beans were delicious. I added bacon, a bit of ham, some onion, and of course those red potatoes. I also fixed ham slices baked in the oven and it was just enough for J and I for supper. It wasn’t a big mess of green beans which is fine, but certainly not like it was in the “old days”. I am NOT complaining as this is the perfect way to grow green beans for a couple 3 messes of fresh beans during the summer. I have three pole bean plants that came up next to the corn, so will see how they do. I don’t think I’ve ever planted pole beans before and neither did my folks. Hope they taste as good!

Dad came to visit this morning. I was so glad I hadn’t gone to church. He’d taken a nap and had his days mixed up. It was a bit stressful as his hearing aids weren’t working either. *sigh He is really worried about me havig a heart attack. I just lie to him now. I won’t tell him if I have a pain attack. He just worries and makes my stress even worse.

Made another dishcloth and scrubby in the last couple of days. I made a dishcloth with netting in the center with the cotton yard around it to make it a duel duty dishrag. I don’t like it and won’t make another one. I’ll use it, cause that is how I am, but the middle is too rough. Not sure that makes sense, but it also makes it more difficult to ring out the water with the netting in the middle. Anyway, don’t plan to make any more like that again.

Seems like I was going to write about something else, but guess not. Going to watch Big Brother now so take care and God Bless


ConnieK June 26, 2016

I'm watching BB, too. Glad to see the two big mouths get nominated. Right now, I'm rooting for Frank.
Don't let the pole beans grow too big or they'll get tough on you.
Take care of you.

middle age pearl ConnieK ⋅ June 26, 2016

Thanks for the advice!!

nothispenelope June 26, 2016

i'm really bad w/ plants. well they need sunlight and i never open my blinds so.

that sounds like a lot, to me. i'm the kindof person who only wants 1 thing for dinner. like..........just mashed potatos. or just pasta.

cardslinger June 27, 2016

We are finally getting some beautiful warm weather. I'd say hot because it is to us but not compared to what I read from all you here on prosebox! My family has grown pole beans before and I loved them. I love beans anyway!

crystal butterfly June 28, 2016

We are picking and eating tomatoes now. I also just removed the crocheted dish cloths in my drawer to somewhere else, because I don't like them, they take up too much room and just because. We got a touch of rain, but sure could use a touch more.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.