and all that jazz in 2016

  • June 21, 2016, 10:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

9:53pm cst

I cannot believe how quickly the time passes around here. I mean, it could have something to do with the fact that I wake up late because I went to bed late and then I do nothing all day but binge watch tv shows and movies..
Nah, that probably has nothing to do with it…

I’ll be heading home in about a week. I’m kinda ready to go back. Mostly because we haven’t been doing anything. My brother can’t ride in the car much because it pulls at his stitches and it’s just uncomfortable. So we haven’t even been over to my cousin’s house at all and there hasn’t been a single day in her beautiful swimming pool. That’s probably what I’m most bummed out about. hah. It’s the only time I swim and I bet the water’s gorgeous right now because it’s been so warm and hasn’t been raining all that much. If he were healthier I bet we’d be going over there at least once a week, if not more because he’s not working. :-(

There needs to be at least one day out there though. We’ll see how I manage that one. I might have to go on my own if he’s not ok by the weekend. It’s not even the allure of the pool, I’d just feel really bad if I came all the way out here and didn’t visit even once. Then again, they do have the means to come visit us here but that’s not really their thing. I can’t really hold it against them.

In other news: my lack of entertainment has lead me to start an okcupid account. ha. So weird. But shhh! I’m kinda incognito on there. I haven’t posted any pictures and I listed my city as the next closest big city. Putting my tiny town’s zip code on there will just lead to weird run-ins, so no thanks. The city’s close enough. It’s not a complete lie when I’m there like twice a week anyway. Right? =P

I’m not really doing it for any serious reasons. I just like to poke around and see what’s out there. I’m curious! And I was bored. Answering questions about life sounded interesting. I’ll probably leave it open for a while and see if I build up the courage to at least post a picture of myself. I actually considered it yesterday but then realized that my lack of any real photogenic skills and camera shyness lead to me not having any recent pictures. The closest I got was one from Thanksgiving. But I was wearing that really rockin’ dress and I don’t want just anyone to have a taste of that. haha. The other two recent ones included one where I’m wearing my work shirt [hello not wanting to give away too much info on that either!] and the other I’m standing in my courtyard cutting tile for the bathroom we redid. Not the most flattering stuff. Although I am quite proud of my ability to use a tile saw!

I don’t know. We’ll see what happens. I do need to make more friends and that’s never going to happen with my current social life. There were high hopes for meeting JR’s friends but he’s not really talking to me right now. I think I might be close to getting “fired” because he’s just been so sparse with the business details, especially since I got out here. It’s hard to tell if it’s because he doesn’t want to “bother me” or if it’s something else entirely. Everything changed after that whole house debacle. Being friends with him has been hard since then and I’m not sure we can go back to the way things were.

Anyway, yesterday was solo shopping day. I went to walmart to return a pair of shorts that was mislabeled [3 sizes too big] and shop around for random grocery items. As I waited in the customer service line I looked to my left and saw this guy walking up to me that looked just like the ghost.
[sidenote: I’m not sure I like that nickname anymore…there was another “ghost” in my past that might get mixed up…maybe I’ll come up with something new…]
They could have been twins, aside from the fact that he was slightly less in-shape than the original. [and no I’m not saying that because I’m shallow and/or all into that stuff, but the original’s job kind of demands it so it’s noticeable] But yeah. I glanced a couple of times as he walked up. Once he was standing right behind me I couldn’t really turn to look anymore. I was curious to see how good the resemblance was up close but at the same time I didn’t really want to ruin the image in my head. Because in my head he was very clearly identical.

Geez. I so gotta let go of that one. Except every time I even allow myself to daydream about it I start to think about how fascinating our conversations could be. There would be so much to say and learn! No doubt about it.

And my brother was watching this show today where a white guy starts speaking in Spanish and it was like a light bulb went off in my head. It was that same accent that this guy talks with. Not like the bad-at-Spanish accent but just a certain way they pronounce the words. It’s really good Spanish but it’s noticeable to my ear. It caught me off guard every time he switched languages. To the point where I missed half of what he said because I didn’t pick up on the switch. I want to listen to him speak so much Spanish that I never miss another word. ugh

Hopeless.
I am so.

rose.
10:40pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.