3 out of 4 tests completed in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • June 16, 2016, 10:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I hate waiting around, so after I got my shower done and dressed I went ahead and headed to the Medical place yesterday where the Mammo was scheduled. I arrived almost an hour early, but it worked out great as they went ahead and took me in and while filling out the papers learned I could also get the chest xrays done in the same building. WooHoo. Saved me a 60 mile round trip to other town. I was done with both tests by 10:15 and decided to fill my car up with gas, and then go to Wally World. I had a small list, but it grew while in the store. Thankfully there were some things I didn’t have on my list that I needed to get and think I got all of them too. I needed to get more dog food and even the newest dog isn’t eating much on these horribly hot days. It is more of a snacking eat for both of them. I got a bacon flavor this time, thinking it may help but it didn’t seem to make a difference this morning when I put some out for them. Oh well, the heat does make eating a lesser priority. Another hot day in store today so not planning on being outside much except I’ll do some watering this morning. I did most of it yesterday evening, but will take a look see to make sure I got everything watered enough last night. Going to find my sprinklers to use for the corn and tomatoes but I’m not too keen on using sprinklers. They usually water more grass than I’d like, but I’ll see if I can set it up to where it can hit both. I can always use the weed eater for the grass that is watered and grows faster than the rest of the yard.

O has been at camp this week and will return this afternoon. He will stay with me tomorrow and I’m sure want to be on the laptop to watch his videos. He will have a limit of how long, but I’ll have him wait until the temps get too hot to be outside very long before I let him watch them.

Haven’t really talked to Dude or any of them. They are super busy and those grands are in summer school. They also go to the pool when time allows which is great they got the family membership. A got one too for her and O so they all spend a lot of time at the pool this summer. Being around all those kids and swimmers make me glad I’m not there. Not relaxing or fun to me.

I really have no more news. I am practicing crocheting when I have time. You Tube helps.

Well, my computer decided to restart itself at the end of the last paragraph and I was so happy to see my entry still here in “Write an Entry”. Thank you PB wizard!!

So, since the computer took on a life of its own, I went back outside and got the sprinkler set up. It will work. It isn’t exact and overshoots a bit but I adjusted as much as I could and turned the water pressure down, so it is watering one garden area at a time. I was hoping to get both with the same time, but couldn’t get it set to not overshoot when it went to the left without not hitting the tomatoes or zucchini and cucumbers at all. I’ll survive and it will still make it easier I think. I have a lot of little green tomatoes now and the one tub of bush beans are blooming like crazy. The other tub of bush beans are growing great so they will produce a bit later than the first tub to give me green beans a bit longer. Not sure that I will can any green beans, but if I have an abundance I will freeze some. Guess I need to clean out my freezer, again to make room.

No baby cucumbers or zucchini yet. I think they will all get ready at the same time. Oy Vay!! I had read on one of the gardening sites about using the bottom (root end) of green onions when you clean them to use and stick them in dirt. It said it would grow into another green onion and they were correct. I have about 6 or 7 of them in different areas and they are all growing so I’ll have have a few green onions to harvest along. I don’t use a lot, so by sticking the roots in dirt as I use them, should space them to maturity about right.

I want to mow today. I am not going to mow today. I will make me wait until tomorrow or Saturday. Some parts of the yard grow faster than others and that unevenness drives me crazy. I just need to stop looking and thinking about it.

Did a small load of my clothes this morning and hung them out after I tightened up my clothes line. With the humidity so high it takes them longer to dry. If they feel damp this evening I may stop hanging them out. What is the point if I have to hand them over chairs etc to finish drying? None I guess. Except for the smell. Ok. Maybe not.

So sorry this is so drug out and long. I was so excited about it saving my early writing that I just kept writing. Going to clean house today since it is so hot outside. Temps nearing 100 and who know what the heat index will get to but it will be hot!

Take care and God Bless


Last updated June 16, 2016


crystal butterfly June 16, 2016

It has be pretty warm here too. Nice today since we've had some rain showers. We don't have dogs, but do keep the bird bath full of water and enjoy watching the birds bath in it.

ConnieK June 16, 2016

That's a good idea about the onion roots. We do that with pineapple, but I think I'll try onions, too. Glad you were able to get all the imaging done in one place! I think you may have to come to FL to cool off. :)

middle age pearl ConnieK ⋅ June 16, 2016

LOL-I think you may be right. Have considered going to AK in the winter to warm up some years.

ConnieK middle age pearl ⋅ June 16, 2016

:)

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 16, 2016

i mowed today, about half the acre we had. tomorrow i'll mow the rest of the yard. i need to do it early before the heat sets in. i want to water earlier than that. maybe at 6am. will get dressed early and be out and about at 6. then, i have running around to do and then mowing. wish i had a clothes line. take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 16, 2016

My "clothes line" is just between two porch posts. Maybe 10Ft? Anyway, I can hang a flat Queen size sheet long ways on it and it will usually hold a small & med size load of wash. I'm using lots more than I thought I would and ended up hanging and drying two loads today. Well the last load had a pair of J's jean shorts i it and the waist band was still damp but just put any damp clothes on the back of a chair and put away the next morning. Saving me a little $$$ to hang dry.

Bird of Paradise June 16, 2016

My list ALWAYS grows while going through the store. I know the stores bank on that to happen. All usefully and needed of course.. okay a few wants sprinkled in there. They say we will have 90's next week here in the Northwest. Ugh!.... only cause our house doesn't have air conditioning.//When I was a kid I lived at the Pool. What a great place! Kept me out of trouble... sort of.

middle age pearl Bird of Paradise ⋅ June 16, 2016

We didn't have a pool, but we had the creek. Lots of creek time after the chores were done.

Cats Rule from OD June 16, 2016

Oh do I know about the temps. Horrible! I can't do anything outside other getting from the car into an air conditioned place and home when it's so hot. My MS flares up soooo bad when its this hot and its the same with when it gets so cold. Immune system issues thanks to meds.

I hope that all your veggies and flowers, etc. are going to grow beautifully. I wish I could do it, but I literally kill a cactus. My mom has the green thumb, I only have a black stump so to speak. Could be the soil and the fact that I forget to water them and how to adjust water when it rained, etc. I just don't get it. I tried for 3 years to plant anything and nothing grew. Oh, we got some carrots! a few, but they were so tiny and tasted horrible.... I'm so happy there are people like you that know what they're doing because if we were all like me, we'd never see another fruit or vegetable.

cardslinger June 17, 2016

I cannot even imagine the heat you experience. It sometimes gets hot for a few days at a time in July or August but I think last year I only had the A/C on about 3-4 times. Our house is well insulated so that helps but still. Our Summer is short and our growing season is short.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.