Irony in Inside My Head

  • June 13, 2016, 7:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Since the end of my pregnancy with Sam and all throughout my maternity leave I was desperate to find a job with regular hours and a decent salary. I was just called for two job interviews which I can’t take because I’m pregnant. If I leave now I lose all maternity benefits. I am lucky enough to live in NJ which is one of three states to offer paid maternity leave. The paid leave has seveal caveats - 1) You have to be with your employer 1 year prior to the baby’s birth 2) The company needs to be greater than 50 people 3) You must be full time. Now one of these jobs is in an office so I wouldn’t be eligible for maternity leave but it would have been perfect for me if this was posted after the baby was born. No weekends, no evenings, no holidays.

It’s incredibly ironic that I found two potentially great jobs that I can’t take. On the flip side, I got two maternity leaves out of my current employer so at least I didn’t completely waste my time at a job that I hate.

I’m getting my third beta drawn later today, a week after the first one. I am hopeful since the first two were relatively high and the second one more than doubled two days after the first. Please please please let this pregnancy turn out ok.

Artist


Always Laughing June 13, 2016

continued prayers

artists*heart Always Laughing ⋅ June 13, 2016

Thank you! I really appreciate it!!!

Always Laughing artists*heart ⋅ June 13, 2016

welcome :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.