Hopeful in Inside My Head

  • June 9, 2016, 4:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I may have gotten into some trouble with writing myself a prescription for a beta hcg level. I didn’t now that my attending physician will get faxed the report which may be a problem. I checked her mailbox in the office and don’t see anything so far. The OBGYN was given the results as well who flipped out and had one of her nurses call me. I told the nurse I just wanted it forwarded to the OBGYN, but the person who entered the order into the computer did it in a way that made it look like the OBGYN ordered it.

The trouble was well worth it. First beta at 13 dpo was 114 and second beta at 15 dpo was 310. I felt like skipping. I couldn’t stop smiling. It’s not a guarantee that this pregnancy will go well, but I’m not bleeding and betas are more than doubling.

For the second beta I begged some of the lab techs to help me. They drew the lab, but did it in such a way so it would not be faxed or emailed to my attendings.One woman actually admitted to me she had an ectopic pregnancy in the past and could empathize with me being worried. So many people can’t be bothered to help others, but there are very few who go out of their way to providentify assistance to a stranger. I bought gift cards and thank you cards for the women who helped me. I ran into one of them in the hall this morning. She yelled ‘I’ve been thinking about you!’ I told her my result and she gave me a hug and a kiss on the cheek. It was one of the nicest things a stranger has ever done for me.

Ironically the fertility center called me later that day to tell me that everything was in place for my FET next month. I feel really sheepish telling them that after all this, I got pregnant on my own. The fertility nurse even donated meds to me to help with the skyrocketing costs of the IVF. I’m supposed to call her with the day I get my period, which is now several days late. I’m going to send her an email and return the meds to the nearest office on Monday. My first OBGYN appointment isn’t until July 8th, and I don’t feel right about keeping the meds until then. Someone else may be able to use them. I don’t ever want to go back to another fertility center after this. I’m praying the little bean stays put and I won’t have to.

I am 4 weeks and 1 day pregnant according to the calculator I used online. The due date calculators vary with due dates ranging from February 11th to the 18th. I’m praying that everything continues to go well. I would really love to surprise Michael for Father’s Day.

Artist


Last updated November 15, 2016


Always Laughing June 09, 2016

prayers it keeps going well

artists*heart Always Laughing ⋅ June 09, 2016

Thank you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.