Wednesday-Mid Morning in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • June 8, 2016, 12:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Took J to the appointment to hopefully do the last step before he is authorized by the insurance co. for his bi-pap. I think there is a glimmer of light at the end of that tunnel. Also they let me know that my blood test results were good. Guess I have enough. The nurse got a little more information from me for the other test setups. The insurance co has to approve or give permission for these tests to be scheduled and taken. You know I pay some hefty premiums every month and really don’t think I use it to cause into question on the valid need for things, but that is the way it is now. I remember when you were able to get what the doctors set up for you and THEN it was sent into the insurance company for payment. It takes more time the current way, and I’m sure created a new division for every insurance company that follows the same process. Not even sure there is anyone to blame except maybe too much fraud was discovered so they added extra steps to insure there isn’t as much. I’m sure it happens a lot, but I would think that frauding insurance companies would be a full time “job” these days.

I arrived at my friends’ house at 10 yesterday morning, and yes she wanted help with her front and side yard ideas and thoughts for flowers. What I didn’t realize until I got there, is that she wanted me to help her plant things up and did holes for others. Sure wish I had know in advance as I would have wore a different pair of shoes. I didn’t mind at all planting up flowers for her and I tried to give her a little advice on how to care for them over the next several days/weeks/months. We chatted and visited and since she happens to be in less physically active than I’ve been so far, she needed to rest more than I do. I was able to get all the flowers she needed put in the ground, in the ground and thankfully it has been raining enough the ground wasn’t too terribly hard to dig holes in with her little hand tools. That is another thing I would have done, if I’d known in advance, is I would have put some of my big tools in the car, my gardening gloves, a little fertilizer and the long handled spade would have come in handy yesterday. It wasn’t all work though as we went to a nursery to look at more flowers for HER to plant. I knew she had the idea now, so I didn’t volunteer to do them for her or with her when we finally got back to her house after we got some more flowers-I did too :( - but only 3, and she was going to throw away some really good hanging baskets and wasn’t going to take them, but ended up bringing two of them home. I plant my new stuff in one of them sometime today. THEN I have to figure out where I’m going to hang it. Ahhh the stress of my life. lol

I found out something about her yesterday that blew my mind. She has a addiction to buying purses. Not just any purse, but $200-$300 purses. THAT explains why she worried about money all of the time. I didn’t respond very well when she showed me a purse that she paid over $200 for and doesn’t like it. WHAT THE HECK???? She will email the seller to see if she can return it and get a refund cause she says she needs the money, however, I don’t think she wants the money to survive, but to get another high priced purse that she thinks is the right size. Holy Moly. I took her some ship on shoes that I had bought at Goodwill (and she shops at Goodwills too), but when I showed them to as she was standing in flip flops, she said she only buy SAS shoes. I get that. You need to have good shoes (note to me) however, I was thinking she could just use them to go outside but she was insisting that she could only wear the SAS cause they had arch support. Ok. When we left to go to the nursery and then to lunch and then to Goodwill, she was wearing her flipflops. AND it was ok if she didn’t like the shoes I took, and it was ok that she wouldn’t want them. However, get your crap together. She showed me a pair of her SAS shoes, and quite frankly, they are ugly. I’m not saying I wouldn’t wear them, but there has got to be a good brand (Hush Puppies) that aren’t quite as dowdy looking for that kind of money or less.

Goodness, sounds like I’m not a good friend, but her pulling out all of those expensive purses to show me, shook me to my core. NEVER in a millions years would I have guessed that she would spend that kind of money on a purse. If she had the money, and she choose to spend her money on $300 purses, I would still question the decision, but would not have allowed it to “bother” me and worry me. She can’t always pay her bills but yet..................

Ok. Please pray for my friend. I love her dearly and with now not working and being retired, I am even more concerned. Addictions are never kind when there is stress and seems to take a bigger hold during those times.

The beagle is in the gray area of staying or not. Polka Dot tolerates him, so that isn’t an issue, however, he is chewing and dragging stuff out in the yard. Not liking that at all. Picked up small bits of trash out of the yard, and not sure where he got it from. I put hot sauce around my front flower bed to hopefully keep him out of it. Knocked over a small container with some Hen and Chick starts in it and the pretty white rock and dirt were scattered everywhere. He follows me where ever I go outside, which I suppose should be a compliment, but it isn’t. He is apparently a young dog, but not a bitty puppy so if O wants to keep him, then there are going to be some rules attached. He must stay out of the flowers and garden stuff. He is a lot faster than Polka Dot and wants to play but he pretty much just annoys Dot. *sigh People who abandon their dogs are so horrid! Still concerned about potential non-stop barking that I know beagles are prone too. I have experience in beagles as we had them when I was a kid and Fred and I had our fair share of Beagles too. The upside of him here, is that he is very happy to be here. He would make a playmate for Polka Dot if Polka Dot caves into the playfulness of Beagle.

Ok. Got a phone call from the place that has the equipment for J and they got the info needed from J’s visit this morning so it shouldn’t take much longer. More equipment than I thought, but we’ll deal with it and I’ll need to buy a bedside bed height table. Will look at Goodwill first, maybe Good Sams and may have to buy one at the furniture store, and guess I should look at Walmart since they carry some furniture. It isn’t quality furniture, bt will work until I find something of better quality anyway. I’m getting really tired of waiting and wondering. J decided he didn’t want to go on to work after all and that saved me lots of drive time. Tomorrow is his payday and there is no question that he’ll go tomorrow. Small or not, he loves his paydays like everyone else. The amount of the check isn’t important, it getting a check that is important not just to him, but to all those that are employed at the WS. Remember that little tidbit if there is talk in your state, country, area about doing away with the Work Shop IF where you live have any. It is NOT about the money they make or don’t make. It is about having a job to go to like everyone else out there that works and to feel productive and part of the “norm”.

Long entry today. Sorry for such a long one. Take care and God Bless


Last updated June 08, 2016


ConnieK June 08, 2016

Work Shop sounds like a great program. I hope it thrives. If your friend has enough for purses, be cautious about helping her financially because doing so will enable her to continue the habit. I don't think you are gossiping. I think your concern is genuine (and correct!) and I will pray for her.

middle age pearl ConnieK ⋅ June 08, 2016

You're correct in my concern. I just had no idea!! And no, as badly as this sounds, I don't offer to or finance my friends. That is a sure way of changing a great friend into something else.

middle age pearl ConnieK ⋅ June 08, 2016

I do believe her brothers or at least one brother have helped her financially and I bet they don't have a clue about how much she has spent on purses.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 08, 2016

i'm just about finished with my planting. i will be before the weekend. all i need to do starting saturday is water every couple days once the seeds sprout. insurance companies are so slow to get things done and then get the bills paid. in the meantime, your son needs the equipment to help him have a better life. so sad it has to be this way. take care,

Oswego June 09, 2016

Glad your blood tests results were good!

Helping a friend plant flowers is always a good deed! :-)

cardslinger June 09, 2016

Addictions are serious! I would never let myself spend that much but I waste money in other ways just little bits at a time.
Glad your blood tests are ok.

aunty EM June 09, 2016

That little dog may be way more trouble than he's worth...you might need to "donate" him to a shelter before you all get too attached to him.

FormerlyMe June 09, 2016

seafarer June 09, 2016

You know I love purses, too and Vera Bradley is my choice, but I can assure you I have "never" paid full price for one!!! And I never will! I'm way to cheap for that!!!!

crystal butterfly June 10, 2016

I think health insurance companies are the only place you can practice medicine without a license. And I to me many of those really expensive purses are really ugly.

Bird of Paradise August 18, 2016

I remember years ago my sister in law could barely make ends meet but she had cable. We were in the same shoes but we didn't have cable. It made no sense till she said that was their form of entertainment. Our form of entertainment was spending time together, playing games, having fun. Two different perspectives. I steer clear of collections. I don't want to get obcessed with obtaining things. I don't want to feel that I have to have at all costs. Pray that she looses interest. It is one thing when you can and another when you shouldn't.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.