Dr Visit update in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • June 7, 2016, 6:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yes I did go. Yes, they took blood. And there will be a ton of tests scheduled. Not looking forward to the $$$$ I’ll be paying on the co-pay but it is what it is and that is that. I have a walking order for chest xrays but will get that when the mammogram is scheduled. Stress test, Cardio gram (I think) and maybe another test that I can’t remember. She was listing so many tests she wants me to take it boggled my mind. *Sigh

No pain since last week, which is a good thing. I was trying to convince her that it was probably caused by me working pretty hard outside and not always taking my meds in a timely manner and that I was doing what and taking my meds on a better schedule. I need to start taking a baby aspirin every day and I will get them today and add them to the 3 meds I take in the AMs. I forgot to tell her that I had started taking Turmeric every day, and thankfully it IS helping the arthritis aches and pain. I’m a believer in Turmeric!!

The place that will setting up J’s Bi-pap machine called me yesterday and I need to take J to the doc I saw yesterday to have her see and talk to him about the bi-pap per Medicare’s instructions. She or her office will then send the paperwork that she sign to the place, who will send to Medicare and then they will approve payment for his equipment. Geeze!! What a crazy and long ordeal this is for him to get a machine to help him obtain more air during sleep!!

Did absolutely no work yesterday outside. Did clean J’s room and washed more laundry. Also washed a few dishes and aired out the Tahoe. I drove to the gas station on Sunday afternoon to buy gas for the mowers, and it spilled a little bit inside the back of Tahoe. Yuk!! Left it outside on Sunday night with the windows open a bit and then when J left yesterday morning and the sun was coming up, I opened up the back of the Tahoe and left it open to evaporate until I left for the Drs appointment. It pretty much eliminated the gas smell so I parked it back in the garage last night.

O had a home game yesterday evening at 6:30 and J got home just before 6 so I went to his game. So glad I was able to go to this home game. He was so good. He hit a huge home run that brought in 4 runs, and the ball went over the fence. They found the ball for him and wrote the distance it went and the date and gave it to him for safe keeping. He also pitched a couple of innings and normally he is catching so he was excited about pitching and his mom was a nervous wreck. I think that he’s going to to go far in his baseball endeavors if he continues doing what he did last night.

O has named the beagle dog. Can’t remember what he named it, but that is never a good sign that it will go to another forever home. I think it has one now. Polka Dot does need a friend, but a beagle can drive you crazy with the barking. I hope it all works out for the best and I think once Polka Dot feels comfortable and isn’t so protective or jealous maybe, things will be fine. I’m actually a bit surprised that Polka Dot has allowed him to stay at all cause the little beagle is male too. Just hope the beagle doesn’t start digging in my flowers or tomato plants that aren’t in tubs. That will get him in trouble.

It rained some more sometime overnight. At first didn’t think it was much, but then noticed my rain catching buckets on the far end of the porch were all full again so it did rain pretty hard for a time anyway. Must have been late last night or really really early this morning, cause the concrete drive was already dry when I got up and could see it. Will not have to water anything today unless it is the plants under the porch, but did that yesterday. There are 4 baby birds in the hanging basket nest.

Going to visit a friend today about 30 miles East of here. Visited with her last month and she called me after I’d gone to bed last night and asked if we were “still on” for today. Nope. But yes. I didn’t know we’d settled on today’s date, but apparently we did. She asked me if I would come to her house and give her some yard ideas. Have not a clue what she has in mind, but I’m game.

I’m done writing and will end this. Take care and God Bless


Last updated June 07, 2016


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 07, 2016

medicare is slow. i dread going to the doctor cause she will want so many tests and i don't want to subject myself to them nor use the time involved. got better things to do. there are some quiet beagles... maybe! i didn't do too much outside yesterday. i was just tired. hoping today will be a better day. take care,

middle age pearl Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 07, 2016

Yes that is exactly what I'm dreading is the time away from home these test will take up. Guess I shouldn't be so stingy with time for my own health care but it usually feels like a waste of time.

ConnieK June 07, 2016

Glad you're getting the issue looked at and hope it is nothing. I love the idea of baby birds in a flower pot. :)

cardslinger June 07, 2016

I'm glad your pain has lessened but that also that your doc is taking good care of you!
I need to check on our bird eggs. I discovered that they are chipping swallows not dark eyed juncos like I thought.

Ragdolls June 07, 2016

You are so right about a beagle's barking! The people across the way from me have one and I hear it everytime they let it out. When I go to bed at night, wakes me early in the morning, and everytime in between. And they were so glad when I moved here nearly four years ago that I didn't have a dog because the previous owners had a yappy dachshund that bothered them. Then they get a Barney-Big-Mouth dog. LOL

crystal butterfly June 08, 2016

My daughter had a beagle. He did bark a lot. Chewed a lot too. Sure hope all the testing comes out good and as another noter said just turn out to be a baseline if they ever want to do more.

Bird of Paradise August 18, 2016

So how do you take that turmeric? And how much. I have also heard about it being good for arthritis.
I am super behind. You are writing much more often since retiring. You said something in your last entry and now I am ready back trying to find out more. I could ask but nah I am gotta attempt to hunt it down.

middle age pearl Bird of Paradise ⋅ August 19, 2016

Walmart carries it and I get the capsule form. Ahh you can go ahead and ask. lol Especially if you don't find it. But really glad to "see" you!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.