Cough cough in One day at a time

  • May 29, 2016, 9:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

See, this is what happens when you get smug. My last entry was about eating well and stuff. Last Tuesday I woke up with a sore throat, my mid afternoon it was full on level 10 cold. Gross. Because of the ridiculous nature of my job contract I only get 5 days sick leave a year. I have already used 3 with the undiagnosed stomach problems, so I dragged myself reluctantly into work. I did get sent home one afternoon (after they clearly got tired of my sneezing and coughing). I went home, had a steaming hot bath and was in bed by 2.00pm. I woke up at about 6.30pm when Booboo started his “feed me or I shall die” dance on the bed. Got up and fed the kitties and was back in bed by 6.33pm. Slept through until 6.15am the next morning.

By Saturday I had started to feel a little less like the walking dead, so I was able to go to both the house warming and to the black tie dinner. I had my hair blow-waved at the salon, and then also got my makeup done. Partly because I wanted to look nice, but also I have found that it gives me way more confidence (those big social things terrify me). The biggest boost I got was when Rich called me “his gorgeous date” when he introduced me to some guys.

We were seated at a table with three (retired) huge sports stars. I was the only girl at the table which was a bit weird. I guess they are all in that situation a lot as they were all great talkers. When I was introduced to one of them, he kissed me right on the lips. He then said “that’s how we do it in the big city”. Um yeah okay. I warred in my head between outraged, and starstruck. Starstruck won. I sure hope he hasn’t caught my cold (or apparently virus as my workmate has just been diagnosed). After the dinner everyone got up to mingle, and then Rich got called away to sort something out. I had a moment of sheer panic, when I was standing there by myself not knowing anyone. Thankfully a kind, kind lady came over and said “come and have a drink with me”. I am so grateful to her.

Well this is all over the place, reflecting my general state of fogged up cold mind I guess. I have received my Honolulu Itinerary, and the name of my room-mate (yes we share with strangers). Unfortunately she has high privacy settings on her facebook, so isn’t good stalking material.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.