People I Could Do Without in New Beginnings

  • May 29, 2016, 2:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t forgotten about my Prosebox, I just need to get a life so that I have more to update. Right now, my life has taken on a comfortable, if uneventful, routine. If anything disrupts that routine, it’s more likely bad than good, and I don’t want to have one of those journals that’s just negative entry after negative entry because doing so wouldn’t be an accurate representation of my life.

My main disruption this time was illness, though not the type of illness I usually expect. My office has a break room where people often leave food. Usually, any leftover food was from a catered lunch. Groups will have meetings that run through the lunch hour, so those groups can order lunch from local restaurants, like California Pizza Kitchen, Moes, Lenny’s, etc. However, sometimes, people will leave leftovers from meals they made at home. Perhaps they made too much, or maybe the recipe didn’t turn out just how they liked. In either case, I wasn’t at all suspicious when I discovered a homemade brownie in the break room at the end of Monday. “Score, dessert after dinner is taken care of,” I thought.

Yeah, I think that brownie might have been laced with a laxative. I woke up feeling normal Tuesday morning, though with a surprise bodily urge. However, as the morning proceeded, my stomach started feeling tighter, and tighter, and tighter, until finally I felt like my middle of my body was in a vice grip. I couldn’t eat anything; even drinking water made my stomach hurt. About 2:00pm, I had to ask my manager to let me go home. I tried to eat a little lunch after I left, thinking maybe the pain was compounded by my stomach being empty, but doing so only aggravated it further. I vomited part of it a few that evening.

Wednesday, I was incapacitated. All I could really do was lie on the sofa and eat soft foods like yogurt. Thursday, I felt better, or at least well enough to go back to work. I was taking Friday off so I could have a four day weekend with Monday being Memorial day, so I was incentivized to go in and be sure I wouldn’t be too far behind come Tuesday morning. I didn’t tell anyone what I suspected I was sick with, if only because I’m reluctant to put an image of me on the toilet all day. Friday, I was ok to go to Jiu Jitsu and the gym, and I feel fine now, though my stomach and intestines still feel a little tight, and not in a good way. They feel like they’re still have a little bit of that excessive contracting, but the feeling is nowhere near as bad as it was Tuesday and Wednesday. I may even try my normal workout routine tonight or tomorrow.

I really wonder why someone would do something like that. I mean, people pull pranks so they can watch and laugh at the results, but this person was just trying to randomly spite an indiscriminate stranger. He knew he wouldn’t be able to see these results. All he could know was that he hurt someone else.
Thank goodness I fell for the joke instead of someone with a sensitive medical condition. I know some people have had to go to the hospital because of that exact same practical joke.

This whole ordeal reminds me of a hammer I just bought a replacement for. Years ago for Christmas, one of my gifts was the multi tool hammer. Specifically, this one linked here (http://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/10-HANDY-PLIER_1402868755.html), and I loved it. I got so much utility out of it. Unfortunately, years ago when I was renting a room from a fellow in midtown, I was helping him with some home renovation. He had another friend help out with the work, and after the project was over, this person stole it. Seriously, he saw my hammer and decided just to take it, never mind that it wasn’t his. This event happened almost ten years ago, and I wasn’t able to find replacement until last week. I suppose this topic would also cover the person who swiped random objects of mine when I was selling my condo. I know I had a sheet of stamps in my desk drawer. I know my lamp had a socket ring securing the shade. I know my computer controller had adapter on the cable. Someone saw those things and thought, “I want it, so I’m taking it” without any regards to whether he had the right to do so.

People like that really blow my mind. I wish I could understand how their thought processes work. Do they even pretend to have any morals, or do they just follow whatever their appetites or instincts encourage them to do with no thought to right or wrong? I’d say that I want to know out of genuine curiosity, but if ever got the chance to talk with one of them, especially the person who made that brownie, I might throttle him. I’ll probably better off if I just learn to live with the mystery.


Star Maiden May 31, 2016

People suck. That's all there is to it

Marg June 19, 2016

We have a saying in these parts: "There's nowt so queer as fowk" translated means 'there's nothing so unbelievable as people'! That just about covers it. What a horrible practical joke to play on anyone.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.