QLD age of consent laws in Political shit

  • May 24, 2016, 9:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

QLD to lower age of consent laws

So this was huge news to read this morning.

Let’s go back to a time, many moons ago, where I was a young 18 year old. My very first boyfriend at the time was 16 years old. I knew these laws existed, and I was pretty damn scared of them.
If we went over the border, to NSW, things wouldn’t have been an issue, as their age of consent was 16 for both straight and gay sex. For some, and whatever reason, the age of consent here in QLD, was 16 for straight sex, but still 18 for gay sex.
The fact that gay sex at one point in time was illegal altogether was rather alarming. In fact, THAT law only went out in Tasmania in the 1990’s!

I couldn’t understand why this stupid law existed only in my state. My 16 year old boyfriend was a very horny guy and was always wanting me to fuck him every which way to Sunday. Talk about fucking tempting!
But this stupid law was always in the back of my mind, and I always made some excuse not to fuck him. In fact, it’s probably why we broke up. We were both too young and it really was an experimental relationship at the time, since we were the only two gay guys who knew each other out in the country, and he was my best friends brother LOL. It’s slim pickings out there, I tell ya!
Kidding, he was actually quite attractive. It’s amazing seeing him these days with his current boyfriend of over 7 years and he has a beard like Gandolf. LOL ok, not quite, but he’s become quite the bear these days! His boyfriend’s name happens to be my name also, so it’s good to know I gave him a good start :P

But yeah, laws like this fucked with my mind way too much growing up. Couple that with my dad always saying homophobic bullshit like “Should throw them all in a room and blow them all up” when he saw the Gay & Lesbian Mardi Gras televised on the TV (ABC at the time, SBS now) or the news. It wasn’t very nice having the feelings I was having as a teenager.

I think it’ll be so, so good when guys who are at that age are figuring themselves and their sexuality out and won’t have to worry about what they are doing in the eyes of the law are wrong when their partner(‘s) simply want to have a root. It won’t be seen as immoral, or wrong and they certainly won’t hesitate like I did when their boyfriend’s arse is in the air, begging for it.

The stupid ‘gay advance defence’ (something like that) (edit: Sorry, “Gay Panic Defence” it is called) law is being scrapped from the law also. That’s another absolutely absurd law that QLD still apparently has. Basicially, you can murder someone and say you were acting in self defense because the person of the same-sex made an advance toward you.
So yeah, thinking of killing someone? You’re off the hook! Just say they were a dirty fucking faggot who tried to grab your ass! Doesn’t matter that you murdered them in cold blood. Go on with your life, sure!

Fucking unreal.

Yesterday, the Victorian Premier personally apologized to LGBT people who were convicted of abhorrent anti-gay laws Just listening to some of the people who were present to hear this apology almost made me cry.
Victoria apologizes for anti-gay laws

Part of me hopes other states would follow suit in their apologies, but Victoria is really leading the way. If it wasn’t so damn fucking cold down there, I’d probably live there, as I want to be somewhere progressive :P

At least Queensland has made a step in the right direction today by finally catching up to the rest of the country, in this way at least.

Edit: I was looking at websites a few days ago stating worldwide LGBT laws - ie. which countries have marriage equality and which ones still have the death penalty etc. Found some pretty cool colour-coded PDF’s which I wanted to take note of, you know, to see how much or if they change colours in updates over the years

Sexual Orientation Laws Overview - Marriage equality

Sexual Orientation Laws May 2016


Last updated May 25, 2016


nothispenelope May 24, 2016

huh. well i didn't kow er........i mean. ok i knew about age of consent laws but i didn't know that.they were different based on sexuality. but i've only had 1 girlfriend [or.w/e we were] and we.didn't do a whole lot so.

crunchie May 25, 2016

Yes you don't want to move to Victoria... It is bloody freezing and pouring rain today!! I work with children too so I'll be out in it all day :( :(

kmh. May 26, 2016

Your Dad's comments are awful.
Hopefully this country will catch up properly sooner rather than later.
And yes, we have certainly had a cold snap this week down here!

colojojo May 31, 2016

This is all fascinating. I have no idea what some of the laws are in terms of sexuality and whatnot. I should probably educate myself.

I was used to consent law in the US being 18, at least in my state. Any younger seems weird to me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.