2014 in Secrets from myself

  • Dec. 31, 2013, 10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Overnight we get a new year. It's a pivot in time. Totally arbitrary yet accepted around the world and for centuries. A year is a measure of time. A revolution of the planet around the sun.

I will be 68 years old this summer. Where does time go? Where do the calendar pages slide to? How many drivers licenses have I had? How many dogs? How many winter coats?

I sit on my pile of years and know that all I have right now is right now. I will continue to get older as long as I am alive. I don't really want to live much longer but I have to at least leave room for the possibility.


noko December 31, 2013

It is arbitrary but with the darkness moving towards more like I am down with that. I was just reflecting on the concept that no matter how we try to project from current circumstances into the future we just plain don't know the sorrows and magnificent joys ahead. May there be much unexpected joy in this next year for you.

woman in the moon noko ⋅ January 01, 2014

I agree. It's like standing at the edge of a cliff - every single day, hour, minute. Half of life just happens to us and half is our own choice.

Wishing you a good year too.

noko December 31, 2013

More light, not like. Sigh.

Deleted user January 01, 2014

I think it's interesting how everyone views aging and death. I know my dad would just love to live forever, he has such vibrance. Me, I don't want to die of course, but I think about my life possibly being only half done and that makes me really tired. Will I have energy for another 43? Happy New YEar!

NorthernSeeker January 01, 2014

Happy New Year!

I could look back fondly on several winter coats...they were professional.

I hope there will be some travel for you to anticipate and enjoy...some perks in the years ahead. There is definitely time for you to make some good friends and get out to smell the roses.

I'm going to go back and read in your diary.

Deleted user January 02, 2014

I think you have a wise and mature atitude about this. I suppose it depends on how much "unfinished work" one feels one has to do. I hope you have a good life to look back on, and yet some more time to enjoy being alive. Dylan Thomas wrote

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

But what's the point of that except noise. We have no choice but to accept death eventually. I'd fear being old and mentally / physically incompetent and subject to medical tortures more than death per se.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.