Now Comes The Scary Part in Scottish Meanderings

Revised: 06/10/2016 4:05 a.m.

  • June 9, 2016, 7 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Surprise meal went off okay. The birthday boy did not suspect a thing and neither did my sister-in-law (his wife Margaret) - I had mistakenly thought she was in on the secret so it was a shock for both of them when they walked in and saw all of us standing at the table shouting "Surprise!" It took him a wee while to work out whose birthday it was for and he was in shock for the first half of the meal I think!

Here he is contemplating if he has enough puff to blow out the two sparkler candles.


He made it!


And with the main instigator of the whole thing - my sister Lorna.



The title refers to the fact that my counselling course is now finished - we had the very last training weekend this past weekend. Strangely I had the utmost difficulty getting up on both mornings - I think subconsciously my body knew it was at the last stretch and there wasn't the same push to get up and at it so to speak. When I mentioned this to others in the group they said they had felt exactly the same.

It was quite emotional at the end - I think because of the nature of the course we had all got quite close anyway but also because of the growth we could see in each other as the course progressed.

First thing in the morning and last thing in the afternoon of each training day we had what's sometimes called an *Encounter Group* or *Big Group*. It's where we would all sit together and say whatever was on our mind, the idea being we got to learn how to offer the core conditions in person-centred counselling, discuss our fears/worries/joys and find out how to cope with situations there instead of in the counselling room with a client.

On the very last morning we gathered for the Encounter Group as usual and in the last half hour of it we had begun to talk about what the course had meant to us. Caroline, who has been on quite a journey for the last 5 years, began to speak but the emotion of the moment got to her and she had to really fight for control, trying not to break down in front of us. It was evident how much of a struggle this was for her and she must have sat there for a good 5-10 minutes desperately trying not to cry. Occasionally she would get a few words out and then the emotion would take over again. We made sure she had tissues and waited.

As I sat there I was gradually aware of this beautiful supportive environment being created for her - something that felt warm, caring, almost cocooned in one sense - and it struck me that this would not have happened six months ago. We would all have been really uncomfortable in that ensuing silence, desperate to 'rescue' her, jumping in, talking about 'safe' subjects until she could gain enough control to speak. But now we felt able to just be there for her – to be ready to walk beside her in her pain no matter what that entailed and feel secure in that. It became something really beautiful and I was quite overwhelmed by it.

It wasn't until afterwards that I noticed one of the trainers wiping away tears and just before the group finished, she admitted that she, too, had been very moved by that moment and felt privileged to be part of it.

It was sad to know that this part of our training had come to an end. Some of us will cross paths at the Agency as we do our counselling but some are off to different branches in other areas so won't. However we've created a group e-mail and are going to arrange a get together pretty soon to make sure we keep in touch.

And yesterday afternoon I received a letter from the Agency to say I'd passed the course! Yay! And also - OMG! Because that means as soon as my PVG paperwork comes through and I've undergone the induction process I'll be matched with my first client! Which is a bit scary. But exciting as well.

Doubly daunting for me as this is my second 'shot' at this having originally trained way back in 2000 but only undertaking 2 years of practice afterwards. The initial nerves never really left me and I moved away from it to do adult literacy tutoring instead. I subsequently did more training in alcohol counselling, bereavement counselling and transactional analysis but always shied away when it came to the practice, terrified I wouldn't enjoy it again.

I'm just so glad I took the plunge to return to it again last year, having asked for advice as to whether I needed to go right back to the beginning again and re-train. It was suggested that this course would be perfect for me, getting me back up to speed again whilst building up confidence at the same time.

I was so worried I wouldn't have the stamina to do it but I managed to attend every session, only once falling behind with the coursework but catching up the following week. There was no doubt some afternoons were a struggle to keep my eyes open and feedback on practice sessions could produce a rollercoaster of emotions but on the whole I found it stimulating - it *did* build up my confidence and it made me realise I could probably cope with returning to a part-time job now. I doubt I'd be applying for jobs at the moment if I hadn't gone through that experience.

But I'm so pleased I didn't have to deal with starting a job while still doing coursework - that would have been a nightmare - although going back to work might cause a conflict now that I've been allocated a day and time for practice - but I'm not going to know that until I actually *get* a job so I don't think there's any point in worrying about that at this stage. I'll cross that bridge when I come to it. *If* I come to it.


I've now managed to reduce the dosage of 1 of the drugs I'm taking in half and another one to almost half. That's taken me over a ***year*** to get that far. It's so depressing. But I suppose at least it's going in the right direction.


I've recently discovered *Breaking Bad*. I didn't watch it when it was on the telly but we were talking about good series to watch at the writing group recently and someone mentioned it finding it difficult to describe which piqued my interest so I went online to check it out and became hooked! I've been watching a couple of episodes a night while I've been having my tea.

The problem with that is that I'm now on Season Five and it's getting near the end. And every bloody episode is finishing on a cliffhanger, making it impossible to leave it knowing if I just wait a few seconds the next one will start. Last night - or rather this morning - I was up until 2 a.m. desperately trying to tear myself away!

What makes it worse is that before I went to sleep the other night I started watching Blooper reels for the show which led on to interviews with the cast etc. etc. Then suddenly I realised I was watching something which had been aired *after* the show finished and therefore I knew how it all ended which you'd think would have spoiled it for me but it hasn't - it's just made me desperate to find out how it got to that point!

That's the downside of not watching something when everyone else is - you can't go around saying "OMG! Did you see last night's episode??! I sure never saw that coming!"

So I'm away to ensure that I'm very strict with myself tonight because I need to be up at a reasonable time tomorrow morning. Nikki's going away with a friend for a long weekend and I've promised I'll go and help to look after Lilah while she packs (Lily's at nursery all morning). Wish me luck!

(And apologies to Pelican Begin Again - I promised her I'd include pics of the girls in this entry but I've rambled on too much as usual so it's going to have to be a rollover promise! Definitely next time!)

Last updated February 06, 2018


NorthernSeeker June 10, 2016

The birthday boy looks very, very pleased...or as you would say "well chuffed". It takes a lot to pull off a surprise of that magnitude.

Congratulations on passing your course! You really battled with adversity to do it with your medical issues and bereavement. You are a strong woman.

Everyone is talking about Breaking Bad but I have never watched it. One of these days it might be on the regular networks.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ June 12, 2016

Well chuffed is a great way of putting it! And thank you - those are kind words and appreciated. Can recommend Breaking Bad - sounds a bit weird - the doings of a chemistry teacher and a previous pupil creating a meth lab - but it's good scriptwriting for sure.

blackpropaganda June 10, 2016

Congratulations! That is quite superb!

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ June 12, 2016

Thank you!

Kimber June 10, 2016

So, what kind of counseling will you be doing? You probably explained it back when you started, but I've forgotten.

As for your training group: In my early 30s I spent four years in group therapy, and I probably didn't need to go the last two years, but I loved the group dynamics so much it was hard to leave. It's really amazing when a group of people who probably wouldn't have much in common in "real life" end up with such a close bond. It kind of restores your faith in humanity.

Marg Kimber ⋅ June 12, 2016

I totally agree with you! I'll be doing person-centred counselling which is where there is the belief that the client knows what's best for them so kind of like the theory that if you give a man a fish you've provided his next meal but if you teach a man to fish you've fed him for life (those aren't the right words but it's something along those lines). So it's more about a particular way of being and offering honesty, acceptance and empathy and if done right, should allow a person to grow and find autonomy.

Just Annie June 10, 2016

Congratulations on passing your course. :)

Marg Just Annie ⋅ June 12, 2016

Thanks Annie! (I've just entered 2016 in your diary. It's been a great read especially hearing of all the adventures of Ella and Charlie because there are so many similarities in my own journey with Lily & Lilah!)

ODSago June 10, 2016

Congratulations! You were right to put stars in this entry. This is a phenomenal victory report!!!! Saw you'd posted and had to slip over to read before starting my day. Maybe more later.

Marg ODSago ⋅ June 12, 2016

Thank you Pat! I hadn't thought of the stars like that!

MageB June 13, 2016

Congratulations of finishing the class. Bravo. Nice party too.

Marg MageB ⋅ June 13, 2016

Thank you!

Deleted user June 13, 2016

Congratulations! It's wonderful to hear you've completed the course, passed, and enjoyed the journey. I'm sure the next thing will be just as satisfying.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ June 14, 2016

Thank you M - I really hope so!

Redcat June 16, 2016

Congratulations to you in this endeavor! This is obviously right up your alley, and I believe you will do quite well. Breaking Bad was a show I didn't see on tv, but I watched it on Netflix and got hooked as well. If you like fast moving and crazy good shows watch How To Get Away With Murder. Only two seasons so far, but worth the watch. I also like the Marvel Comics (not cartoons) shows. Very fast moving as well. Glad the party went well!!

Marg Redcat ⋅ June 18, 2016

That's funny - I'm sure How To Get Away With Murder was the show Nikki mentioned to me yesterday. I always go out to her place on a Saturday and we watch a programme on the telly at night after the kids are in bed. There's usually a series of something we both like but at the moment we've come to a dead end so were looking for something else we could both watch. I'll check it out - thanks for the recommendation!

edna million July 21, 2016

Congratulations on finishing the counseling course (ages ago!)!! It sounds like a wonderful thing to do personally as well as professionally, even better. And a big congratulations on cutting down on the medication - that's major, even if it doesn't seem so major since it's taken awhile.

We watched Breaking Bad last summer, right after the final season had aired, and OMG we LOOOOVED it!! We did the same thing, binge-watching several episodes at a time, because we had to know what happened next. And when we were done, we very VERY nearly started watching it all over again. It's one of the best shows I've ever seen, and I didn't think I'd like it at all, given the subject matter. Meth is a terrible problem where we live, and I didn't want to watch a show that glorifies making meth. After seeing it, I wouldn't make meth if you gave me a gazillion dollars, so no worries there!

Have you seen Six Feet Under? We're currently re-watching that after probably 7 or 8 years. It's another huge favorite of mine. Both hilarious and heartbreaking.

Marg edna million ⋅ July 21, 2016

Thank you! I seem to remember watching a few episodes of Six Feet Under when it first came out but I never really got into it properly. Thanks for reminding me of it though because I need something else to get my teeth into so that'll do nicely!!

Deleted user August 24, 2016

You are a counselor ! How wonderful !

Marg Deleted user ⋅ August 24, 2016

I was one way back in 2002 but stopped doing it to concentrate on other things so this year is my attempt to get back into it :)

Deleted user Marg ⋅ August 24, 2016

Good luck with this ! I know you will do great at it !

Marg Deleted user ⋅ August 25, 2016

Aw thank you!

Deleted user Marg ⋅ August 25, 2016

:-)

Deleted user August 24, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.